SUNDAY POTPOURRI: NEW THINGS, CREEPY VISITORS….

Coffee, Mimosa, & reading - logo2

My week went by fast, with four books read and reviewed….see my Weekly Updates.

My carpet cover (for my office chair) did not arrive on Saturday, probably because the post office closes at 2:00 and Amazon had until 8 p.m.to deliver it.  Sigh.

But I did take a trip to Target and bought a new kitchen rug.  The old one was so depressing…

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wish I could cover up every one of those horrible white tiles!  How I long for the brick ones I’ve had in other places…or the hardwood.

Well, we deal with what we have, don’t we?  Here is another view of my kitchen, which I try to cheer up a bit with color…and coffee.  The Coca Cola ice bucket contains tea bags, Sweet ‘n’ Lo, and instant oatmeal packets.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like finding new uses for old things, since I never used the ice bucket until I found these new ways to spice it up.

***

Last night I started reading Vinegar Girl, by Anne Tyler…and I’m enjoying it so far. 

 

 

41AjUYjmVPL._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_

***

I’m still freaking out about the cricket that visited a week ago, followed by another a few days later.  Now I have a hard time falling asleep, because that’s when I hear them!  Although I have done away with those two, how do I know there won’t be more?

Everywhere I go, I see them.  There must be a pestilence of them this year.  In the supermarket, the clerks were talking about them.

But…it doesn’t help my sleeping to know that they are everywhere!

I try to read for a very long time, hoping to fall asleep immediately, but I know that if The Visitor arrives…I will not sleep again all night.

Any remedies?  I did spray around the windows and under the sinks where the water pipes reside….hopefully that helps.  I haven’t had a visitor since I did this.

***

Now I plan to read some more, watch movies on my DVR, and maybe some Netflix.  The other night, I recorded an old movie from 1977, which I have on VHS, but don’t like watching movies on the VCR…LOL.  The movie: Looking for Mr. Goodbar, with Diane Keaton, Richard Gere, etc.

 

51luaukxN3L._SY445_

***

I plan to save it on my DVR indefinitely…as DVD copies are currently unavailable.

What does your weekend look like?  What are you looking forward to?

***

6 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: NEW THINGS, CREEPY VISITORS….

  1. Ha crickets are being a pain still. We get big black cockroaches that look like crickets. (thanks Australia) and they freak me out. I get my house sprayed every year or so because I can’t stand them. Looking forward to your thoughts on Vinegar Girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope that the two I had were the end of it…I did some spraying. But if it doesn’t work, I’ll have to bring in the big guns…exterminators. Yikes. The managers here have said they spray annually, but I’ll need to check into that.

      Thanks for stopping by, Kathryn, and enjoy your week!

      Like

  2. Really like your idea for ice buckets!
    Not as old as the movie you watched, but I watched Kate and Leopold with Meg Ryan and Hugh Jackman. I had never seen it before and found it delightful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I enjoyed Kate and Leopold back in the day….I’m always up for a Meg Ryan flick, just as I always love watching Diane Keaton. Thanks for stopping by, Dagny, and I’m a big fan of new uses for old things. I have a barbecue cart in service for odds and ends in my bedroom. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ha! Seriously? I can’t stand them…they chirp and disturb my sleep. Every night when I try to sleep, I’m tense, waiting to hear the sound.

      Actually, there have only been two, spaced days apart. Maybe they are staying outside now!

      Thanks, Patty.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

