Posted in Tuesday Potpourri

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: FEEDING MY OBSESSIONS

Books & fairytales - may 16

In my little corner of the world, books, coffee, and the various collections I have gathered around me keep me smiling.

Reading is only one of my obsessions, of course, and Netflix bingeing is a regular part of my week.  After finishing a couple of series this past weekend, I was searching, wondering what would catch my eye next.

Then, last night, I stumbled upon The Killing, and before I knew it, bedtime had passed and I was still going.

 

 

the killing image

***

 

A police investigation, the saga of a grieving family, and a Seattle mayoral campaign all interlock after the body of 17-year-old Rosie Larsen is found in the trunk of a submerged car.

The mystery intrigued me, of course, but the setting (Seattle) and the police detectives kept me going.  I enjoyed seeing how their own lives sometimes intruded on their work, and vice versa.

***

Needless to say, after watching this show for a few hours, I barely picked up my current read, The Ramblers.  Aidan Donnelley Rowley is a new-to-me author, but the Manhattan setting and the idea of “lost souls” drew me in.

 

 

28114864

***

 

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit. 

***

So…what’s not to love?  I know I will soon engage with the characters, but right now, books and Netflix are competing.

Do you find yourself struggling to enjoy all of your obsessions?

As I sip my morning coffee, I try to make good choices for the day.  First, I’ve been visiting blogs, in the Tuesday Intros/Teasers event.  I also checked what I have bookmarked on Amazon, hoping to find a new release that I had forgotten about. 

Nothing…but I am anticipating Anne Tyler’s newest book,Vinegar Girl, coming on June 21.  Not that far away…right?

 

 

 

41AjUYjmVPL._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Blurb:  Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny? Plus, she’s always in trouble at work – her pre-school charges adore her, but their parents don’t always appreciate her unusual opinions and forthright manner. 

Dr. Battista has other problems. After years out in the academic wilderness, he is on the verge of a breakthrough. His research could help millions. There’s only one problem: his brilliant young lab assistant, Pyotr, is about to be deported. And without Pyotr, all would be lost.

When Dr. Battista cooks up an outrageous plan that will enable Pyotr to stay in the country, he’s relying – as usual – on Kate to help him. Kate is furious: this time he’s really asking too much. But will she be able to resist the two men’s touchingly ludicrous campaign to bring her around?

***

Anne Tyler is skilled at bringing out characters who provide the comforts of home to family members, even at the expense of their own lives.  I hope Kate will find a way to express and meet her own needs.  What do you think?

***

 

Mother's Day gifts & mimosa

***

Author:

Retired social worker * Mother * Grandmother * Writer *Obsessive blogger * Book Reviewer * Loves movies & collecting things * *To find out more about my books and blogs, check my website, Laurel-Rain Snow's Creations...

2 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: FEEDING MY OBSESSIONS

  1. You are battling dueling obsessions…it is really cold here…and again rainy…so I can’t plant today either. So…after lunch it’s Game Of Thrones…and back to my lovely book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I am definitely faced with many obsessions. I did a little reading today, but mostly watched The Killing. Finished Season I, which had 13 episodes.

      There are three more seasons! Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and enjoy your day.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

