Sunday Potpourri

SUNDAY POTPOURRI: AN UNRELIABLE NARRATOR, ETC.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to another Sunday Potpourri event.  This morning, I’ve been visiting blogs, for the Sunday/Monday events, and here it is, only 8:00 a.m.

That’s because I woke up at 5:30 a.m.!

Yesterday, I ran a few errands, had lunch at Marie Callender’s (love the potpie!), and came home to binge-watch House of Cards, Season 4.  Loving this show, but there are only 13 episodes in this new season, so I need to savor them more…before they are over.

Then I settled down with Remember Mia, by Alexandra Burt, my current read.

 

 

25629669

***

There is something profoundly troubling to me about this book.  A missing baby, a car accident, amnesia…all of these events are seen from the perspective of an unreliable narrator.  If we see the other characters from Estella’s view, they are very sinister, or at the very least, annoying.  Her husband Jack is so annoying as to be someone I might suspect of nefarious deeds.  Yes, he is cold, he is detached, and he is critical…from her view.  Then there are the various construction workers at the house where she lives, all alone, with a baby who never stops crying.  And the constant criticism she gets from her husband, from the neighbors, and from almost anyone she encounters.

I hope to finish this book today, but I even dreamed about the characters last night.  Who, if anyone, took the baby?  Why was every evidence that a baby even lived there missing, too?  And who can we trust?  And finally, if Jack was so concerned about Estella’s state of mind, why did he set her up in a construction zone, literally, while he went to another city?

Like I said…troubling.

***

So now…back to reading.  Next, it’s a toss-up between my NetGalley read, No One Knows, or A Long Time Gone, a book that has been on my shelves for too long.

 

51+6vC8a5zL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_91CuXF91zRL._SL1500_

 

 

 

 

 

 

***

What are you enjoying and/or obsessing about today?

***

4 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: AN UNRELIABLE NARRATOR, ETC.”

  1. I can remember eating at a Marie Callender’s when I was on vacation in Vegas. Loved their pie! Dessert pie, I mean. I don’t think I had a pot pie there. But I have had their frozen potpies and they are scrumptious.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

