TUESDAY POTPOURRI: EXCERPTING “NO ONE KNOWS”

hummel bookish-LOGO

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Jenn, at Books and a Beat.

Today’s featured book is an e-ARC from NetGalley, to be published on 3/22/16:  No One Knows, by J. T. Ellison.

 

51+6vC8a5zL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Intro:  (Aubrey – Nashville – Today)

One thousand eight hundred and seventy-five days after Joshua Hamilton went missing, the State of Tennessee declared him legally dead.

Aubrey, his wife—or former wife, or ex-wife, or widow, she had no idea how to refer to herself anymore—received the certified letter on a Friday.  It came to the Montessori school where she taught, the very one she and Josh had attended as children.  Came to her door in the middle of reading time, borne on the hands of Linda Pierce, the school’s long-standing principal, who looked as if someone had died.

Which, in a way, they had.

***

Teaser:  (Chase)

He tapped the keyboard again, pulling his notes together.  Cursed his naivete for thinking he could play fast and loose with his own reality. (49%).

***

Blurb:  In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

***

What do you think?  Do these excerpts make you want to keep reading?  Let’s chat.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

Advertisements

47 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: EXCERPTING “NO ONE KNOWS”

  1. I don’t normally read mysteries or thrillers, but this one sounds SO good!! I would definitely keep reading; I think this will be a very intriguing page-turner. Also, the MC sounds very interesting indeed. And I would love to see if her former husband does in fact turn out to be this new person now coming into her life! GREAT choice!! : )

    Like

  2. I’ve been in the mood for more mysteries/thrillers – almost done with In the Blood, Unger – I do like the sound of this one from the intro Laurel.

    Like

  3. I’m definitely intrigued by this one! I’m off to see if my library has it on order, so I can claim my place…or visit Amazon to claim my book. Thanks for putting me onto this one. Keep reading!

    Like

  4. I love the cover and the story sounds really intriguing as well! I definitely will be adding it to my wishlist.

    Happy reading! Here’s mine of The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s