SUNDAY POTPOURRI: OBSESSING OVER MINUTIAE, ETC.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to today’s Sunday Potpourri!  I haven’t done one of these in a while, but today felt like just the right moment.  I woke up at 4 a.m.!  How did that happen?  Well, I blame it on being very tired and going to sleep at 10 p.m. last night.  I think I might need a nap today, though.

Tonight brings The Oscars, and while I don’t always enjoy the hosts…or even the tedious and lengthy show, I do record it.  So I can zip past the boring parts.

Yesterday, I watched Room...awesome!

 

91d+FFBIQRL._SX385_

On Friday night, I saw Spotlight...another movie I was glued to as I watched…

 

spotlight

***

In the past couple of weeks, I have been obsessed with the minutiae of my blogging life.  Like my e-mail accounts.  For some reason, gmail took forever to load, so I started investigating.

 

gmail image

Imagine my horror to discover that there were HUNDREDS of e-mails in my Trash folder.  It says right at the top of the folder that they empty these after thirty days…right?  Not true.

So I spent a considerable amount of time going back over these e-mails, and also the folder All Mail, which doesn’t empty just because we delete our inbox.  Who knew?

Now everything is fine…and surprisingly, I now access my e-mail without too much difficulty.

***

On to less tedious events: 

I am reading a Jane Green book that I somehow missed back when it first came out (2009).  I downloaded my copy in July 2015.  Dune Road is an intriguing journey into our MC’s new life after divorce.

 

dune road resized

Dune Road is set in tony Highfield, Connecticut, where recent divorcee Kit Hargrove has joyfully exchanged the requisite diamond studs and Persian rugs of a Wall Street Widow for a clapboard Cape with sea-green shutters and sprawling impatiens. Her kids are content, her ex cooperative, and each morning she wakes up to her dream job: assisting the blockbuster novelist Robert McClore. Then an unexpected series of events forces Kit to realize that her blissfully constructed idyll and blossoming new romance aren’t as perfect as she thought. A warm, witty, and gloriously observed meditation on the challenges of starting over, Dune Road is Jane Green at her absolute best.

***

Sounds good, right?  I am usually obsessed with thrillers, but I love taking a mini-break to visit the world of characters starting over.

What are you obsessing about today?  What tiny tidbits are catching your interest?

***

4 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: OBSESSING OVER MINUTIAE, ETC.

  1. I loved that Jane Green book…I bet you do, too. I am obsessing about everything…cleaning out the basement, books, everything! Is that a sign of spring?

    Like

    • I think I’m glad I don’t have a basement, Patty…LOL. In my previous home, the attic was crammed with things that I didn’t even remember having until I was getting ready to move. Yes, that’s probably why they call it Spring cleaning!

      Thanks for stopping by, and I am finding many surprises in Dune Road. My interest just went up a few notches.

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Diane, and I hope you do see Room. It was amazing…and then Brie Larson won the Best Actress award at the Oscar’s for this role.

      Spotlight is definitely one I could watch more than once.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

