BOOKISH THURSDAY: A POTPOURRI OF EVENTS

bookish thursdays

Welcome to Thursday, a day that once seemed lost, with nothing exciting happening anywhere.  But then that changed, and today I am celebrating some of the bookish events around the blogosphere, like Lexxie’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts; Kimberlyfaye’s TBR Thursday; and Christine’s Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

Today’s featured book is from my TBR pile on Pippa:  A Long Time Gone, by Karen White, which I downloaded in August 2014.  A long time hiding out!

 

91CuXF91zRL._SL1500_

For Lexxie’s post, here’s a snippet about food:  (Vivien, our MC, has returned  home to the Mississippi Delta after the end of her marriage).

“You must be Vivien.  I’m Cora Smith.  I’d shake your hand, but they’re covered in flour.”  She moved her elbows in greeting, both of her hands fully immersed in a bowl of flour and seasonings as she coated chicken parts.

“It’s nice to meet you,” I said, staring at a serving platter full of fried chicken as my stomach grumbled.  I’d not tasted anything fried in a long time.  Mark had originally been charmed by my Southern cooking, until he’d gained a couple of pounds and forbidden everything with taste from our table and hired a microbiotic chef.

(OMG!  I am drooling here…it has been a long time since I had fried chicken, too, but I can picture my mother “flouring” the parts!).

***

For TBR Thursday:  I am not sure why this book has been hiding out so long.  I love this author and have even read one of her newer books since I downloaded this one.

Here’s the blurb:  When Vivien Walker left her home in the Mississippi Delta, she swore never to go back, as generations of the women in her family had. But in the spring, nine years to the day since she’d left, that’s exactly what happens—Vivien returns, fleeing from a broken marriage and her lost dreams for children.

What she hopes to find is solace with “Bootsie,” her dear grandmother who raised her, a Walker woman with a knack for making everything all right. But instead she finds that her grandmother has died and that her estranged mother is drifting further away from her memories. Now Vivien is forced into the unexpected role of caretaker, challenging her personal quest to find the girl she herself once was.

But for Vivien things change in ways she cannot imagine when a violent storm reveals the remains of a long-dead woman buried near the Walker home, not far from the cypress swamp that is soon to give up its ghosts. Vivien knows there is now only one way to rediscover herself—by uncovering the secrets of her family and breaking the cycle of loss that has haunted them for generations.

***

My Bookish/Non-Bookish Thoughts:

  • I’ve only read and reviewed two books so far this week, but they were both totally engaging.  Right now I’m reading the thriller Find Her, by Lisa Gardner;
  • My February has been filled with doctor’s appointments, tax accountant meetings, etc.;
  • Yesterday I took a break from the grind at The Elephant Bar, with Mac & Cheese, a Pomegranate Martini, and a salad:

 

IMG_0692

  • Tomorrow I’m having lunch with an old friend, one who celebrated her birthday earlier this week;
  • I want to see a movie this weekend, since the Oscars are coming.  I’m still pondering the choices;
  • I’ll definitely be watching the Oscars on Sunday…

***

So…what does your Thursday—and upcoming weekend—look like?  Come on by and share!

***

16 thoughts on “BOOKISH THURSDAY: A POTPOURRI OF EVENTS

  1. Brandie

    Mac n Cheese and a martini – YUM! I hope you’re enjoying Find Her. Can’t wait to see what you think of it! I haven’t read a White book in a long time, and that one looks good.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Brandie, and I am LOVING Find Her. I didn’t read much today, as I had appointments, etc., but hope to finish it tomorrow. I love the Mac n Cheese at The Elephant Bar…and the martini was delicious. Karen White is one of my favorite writers, so I am eager to dive into this one.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s also been ages since I had fried chicken, but I can remember my grannie fixing it every Sunday. They lived in the country so it was their own chickens which she killed, cleaned and cut up herself. Odd how my tastes have changed over the years. As a youngster I only wanted legs – or a wing if it came to that. Early adulthood found me wanting the thighs. But through it all I loved the liver – still would enjoy some good fried chicken liver. These days, it’s baked for me.

    Like

    1. Fried chicken was a regular event on Sundays at our house, too, and I even had it for a while in my younger years, in my first marriage. But then my tastes changed, too, so nowadays, Colonel Sanders’ fried chicken is the only kind I have, and very rarely. Thanks for stopping by, Dagny…it’s fun to reminisce, isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kgriffin3227

    A Long Time Gone doesn’t really sound like my kind of read, but the mysterious buried woman sounds interesting and makes me wonder what happened. If you love the author, you should definitely give it a shot! That mac n cheese sounds good. It would go well with fried chicken too. You’ve gotta stop with the food or you’re going to ruin my diet, lol! Here’s my TBR Thursday. Happy reading!

    Like

  4. I’ve been seeing Find Her around the book blogging community at the moment and I’m intrigued – I’ve never read anything by Lisa Gardner but she sounds like my kind of author. I hope you’re enjoying!

    Enjoy your lunch tomorrow and have fun at the movies – I wonder what you’ll see!!

    Like

  5. This book doesn’t really sound like my type of read, but I hope you’ll enjoy it when you read it. Mac and cheese, however? That sounds amazing. The martini to go with it doesn’t sound half bad either. 😉

    Like

  6. madilynquinn01

    There was this family owned southern restaurant near my home that had literally the best fried chicken I’ve EVER had. Shame it closed!

    This Thursday involved getting my kiddo in daycare and me finally writing some fiction for the first time in days.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

