HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: WAITING FOR “SHE’S NOT THERE”

wow logo on march 25

Welcome to another Waiting on Wednesday event, hosted by Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

Every week, we gather around the blogosphere and search out the upcoming book releases, sharing our thoughts and blurbs.  Today I am eagerly awaiting a book from an author I have loved over the years, but haven’t read anything she has written in a whileJoy Fielding’s She’s Not There is a gripping novel of psychological suspense—a must-read for fans of Laura Lippman and Mary Higgins Clark.  Release Date – 2/23/16.

 

 

51-obbUwShL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_
 

 

A vanished child, a family in turmoil, and a fateful phone call that brings the torments of the past into the harrowing present . ..

“I think my real name is Samantha. I think I’m your daughter.”

Carole Shipley’s heart nearly stops when she hears those words from the voice on the other end of the phone. Instantly, she’s thrust fifteen years into the past, to a posh resort in Baja, Mexico—and the fateful night her world collapsed.

The trip is supposed to be a celebration. Carole’s husband, Hunter, convinces her to leave their two young daughters, Michelle and Samantha, alone in their hotel suite while the couple enjoys an anniversary dinner in the restaurant downstairs. But returning afterward, Carole and Hunter make a horrifying discovery: Two-year-old Samantha has vanished without a trace.

What follows are days, weeks, and years of anguish for Carole. She’s tormented by media attention that has branded her a cold, incompetent mother, while she struggles to save her marriage. Carole also has to deal with the demands of her needy elder daughter, Michelle, who is driven to cope in dangerous ways. Through it all, Carole desperately clings to the hope that Samantha will someday be found—only to be stung again and again by cruel reality.

Plunged back into the still-raw heartbreak of her daughter’s disappearance, and the suspicions and inconsistencies surrounding a case long gone cold, Carole doesn’t know whom or what to believe. The only thing she can be sure of is that someone is fiercely determined to hide the truth of what happened to Samantha.

***

Wow!  This one sounds heartbreaking to me, and here I am wondering why the parents left such young children alone in the hotel room?  But not wanting to judge too harshly, I am going to read and try to understand the choices they made.

What do you think?

***

Advertisements

22 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: WAITING FOR “SHE’S NOT THERE”

  1. Oh my goodness! This definitely sounds very emotional, Laurel-Rain! And it reminds me of a true story of a family whose child disappeared from their hotel room in Portugal a few years ago… I hope you’ll enjoy it when you get to read it.
    Have a wonderful Wednesday and happy reading.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s