A POTPOURRI OF MUSINGS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Welcome to another Monday of Musings, hosted by Jenn, at a Daily Rhythm.  Last week, I rambled on about a current read and how I choose to review.

Here are Jenn’s topics:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What has been your most favorite book, so far, this year? Why?

 

***

So much to ponder!  First I’ll tackle my current read…and unfortunately, the one I was reading last week for this post turned out to be a DNF.  Sigh.

But The Perfect Son, by Barbara Claypole White, which I’m reading now looks more promising.

 

 

25228579

From a distance, Felix Fitzwilliam, the son of an old English family, is a good husband and father. But, obsessed with order and routine, he’s a prisoner to perfection. Disengaged from the emotional life of his North Carolina family, Felix has let his wife, Ella, deal with their special-needs son by herself.

A talented jewelry designer turned full-time mother, Ella is the family rock…until her heart attack shatters their carefully structured existence. Now Harry, a gifted teen grappling with the chaos of Tourette’s, confronts a world outside his parents’ control, one that tests his desire for independence.

As Harry searches for his future, and Ella adapts to the limits of her failing health, Felix struggles with his past and present roles. To prevent the family from being ripped apart, they must each bend with the inevitability of change and reinforce the ties that bind.

***

I love how the author shows us each character in alternating narratives…and while at first, I thought Felix was unlikeable, I came to see him in a different light.

***

As for my favorite book this year so far…that’s a challenging question.  First of all,  I have created a page for Favorite Books…and my Favorite Books of 2015 show 14 titles so far.

Hush Hush, by Laura Lippman is currently at the top of my list…but who knows what will happen by the end of the year?  (Click the title for my review).

 

22206617

From my review, here is a summary of what I loved:

“As the story moves along at a comfortable pace, the suspense ratchets up unexpectedly, followed by a seamless, yet stunning reveal. And then comes a feel-good scenario that left me smiling. 5.0 stars.”

***

What are you musing about today?

***

4 thoughts on “A POTPOURRI OF MUSINGS

  1. I am musing about the book I just finished…The Doubter’s Almanac…and…I am musing about the Carrot Cake Cookie that Den and I just split…it was a big ole’ sandwich cookie and sooooo delicious!

    Like

  2. For my blog, I’ll review any book I read. When writing about books for groups though, I share only ones that I’d recommend. That makes me really frustrated with the DNF books!

    I used to keep track of my favorite books as I read them. Then I got so busy I forgot to keep up…. Unfortunately, that means in December, I’ll have a lot of work to do figuring out my BEST OF list.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

