MONDAY RAMBLINGS: PAST, PRESENT, ETC.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today my musings have taken me to the past…and here’s what I discovered.  Check in with Jenn, at A Daily Rhythm.

For the past few days, I have been searching my Archives, discovering little treasures from my early days on this blog.  Like the post in which I shared the photo and books above,  Odds, Ends…Ah, Potpourri.

The books were old favorites:  Marge Piercy’s memoir “Sleeping with Cats” is near the top of the stack, beneath a copy of “Open House,” by Elizabeth Berg.  And who could ever forget “The Golden Notebook,” by Doris Lessing.  I recall reading that in college.  I recently bought another copy from Amazon, because, despite my obsession with my books, I couldn’t find my original copy!

The  doll makes me think of Ireland, so she fits right into my Ireland Room, where I have hung several photos from my eldest, Craig, the Photographer.

***

In this next photo, I have placed an “Irish” doll next to one of his photographs: set in a cemetery. I have the photo in my bedroom.

The three-dimensional plate features an Irish cottage.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I still have the dolls, but the one in the top photo is packed away in a bin in the garage.  The dolls were overflowing into any empty spaces available.

Today I’ve been visiting blogs and thinking about the present, but while taking out my Thanksgiving decorations, I stumbled upon this old photo of three of my grandchildren, Alec, Aubrey, and Aaron…when they were much younger.  They are now 20, 18, and 17.  So I placed it in my office.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a close-up:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

And here are the Thanksgiving Jim Shore figurines, the search of which brought me to an unexpected place:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

What are you musing about today?

***

9 thoughts on “MONDAY RAMBLINGS: PAST, PRESENT, ETC.

  1. Love where your musings take you! I am not musing today…at all…I am trying to plan a way to actually get the motivation to work in the basement…but since I have the day to myself…I may just put it off one more day and read!

    Like

    • Thanks, Cleopatra…I feel a little silly when I traipse down my memory pathways, but I always end up enjoying it. And finding these old pictures of things I have arranged differently, since I’m always rearranging…well, it feels good. And rediscovering the photo of my three grandchildren in “Old Timey” clothes was a delight.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The two oldest are in college, and yes, they are readers, but Aubrey doesn’t really read what I read. Alec is majoring in business, so his book choices are different, too.

      They all love movies, so we have that in common.

      Thanks for stopping by, Lia…

      Like

  2. Pingback: MONDAY POTPOURRI: MUSINGS | POTPOURRI

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

