Thirsty Thursday and Hungry Hearts

THIRSTY THURSDAY & HUNGRY HEARTS: A GUILTY PLEASURES EVENT

unConventionalBookViews_Meme-ThirstyThursdayHungryHearts-1-450x200

 

I’ve been itching to try this Thursday meme, hosted by Lexxie, at (Un)Conventional Book Views.  It fits nicely into my Guilty Pleasures feature, too, so here goes:

The idea of Thirsty Thursday and Hungry Hearts is to share a quote with food or drinks that showed up in a recent read, as well as if it’s something you think you’d like or not. Please share the title of the book it happened in, as well as the character who ate or drank the special little something you discovered between the pages of a good read. Please link up beneath, and visit other bloggers who are participating in Thirsty Thursday and Hungry Hearts as well.

***

My excerpt is from The Hurricane Sisters, a book I just started, and one of the main characters is Maisie, a woman who just turned eighty, and whose dysfunctional family is celebrating the event with her.  For many of them, she is something of an annoyance, albeit a necessary one, which makes the celebration even more sweet.

 

 

81dcw+2rmXL._SL1500_

 

The cake was very pretty, all covered in marzipan hydrangeas of every color, just like the ones I grew.  All the waiters sang and my family sang along too.  Ivy and Ashley (her grandchildren) took pictures with their phones and the Glass and I smiled, thinking again I was very lucky to be surrounded by so many lovely people who cared about making me happy in that moment.

***

I’m not really a cake person, but I do love the sound of this one!  What do you think?

***

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

4 thoughts on “THIRSTY THURSDAY & HUNGRY HEARTS: A GUILTY PLEASURES EVENT”

  1. Oh yes, I definitely like the sound of this cake, Laurel-Rain, probably mostly because of the fact that there is a celebration, and the birthday woman is happy to be surrounded by her family. Great quote! Thanks so much for participating in the Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts meme 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for hosting this event, Lexxie, and I’m glad I finally found an excerpt that fits! LOL

      I love generational stories, and this particular celebration seems like some I’ve attended over the years.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

