SAVORING MY GUILTY PLEASURES: BOOKS & BRUNCH

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to My Guilty Pleasures feature, where I rave about things I love and things I am anticipating.

Upcoming book releases are always fun, and I’ve been drooling over this one for a while:

 

What She Knew, by Gilly MacMillan, will not be released until January 19, 2016, but some lucky people (yes, YOU, Patty, at Books, Thoughts, & a Few Adventures) has a copy.  So far, I haven’t found it.

 

 

51LETDsTcUL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

 

In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One.

In a heartbeat, everything changes…

Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.

Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion.

As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most.

Where is Ben? The clock is ticking…

Delicious, right?

***

The other day, I thought about a book I had read back in the day.  Julia Roberts starred in the movie based on the book…and I once had it in my library.  Alas, one of my purges took it away.  But not one I’ve been doing lately…I think I had a mass market paperback copy, and I rid myself of most of those when I downsized.

Anyway…I ordered a hardcover version, really cheap, since it was published in 1987.  Sleeping with the Enemy...drum roll, please!  And for the Julia Roberts movie, DVD version, click the link.

 

51lto1Njg3L._SX344_BO1,204,203,200_

 

41HWDGR6PJL

 

I’ve watched the movie numerous times, but haven’t read the book in ages.  Time to reread!

***

On Wednesday, I treated myself to brunch, complete with a Bloody Mary, while reading my book One Moment, One Morning, by Sarah Rayner. (Click for my review).

Open face spinach and feta omelet, with strawberries…and the Bloody Mary.  Truly my guilty pleasures.

 

guilty pleasures 1

***

What pleasures do you savor, especially with the weekend approaching?  Or what midweek delights capture you?

***

PicMonkey Collage-choc mim

***

6 thoughts on “SAVORING MY GUILTY PLEASURES: BOOKS & BRUNCH

  1. Patty

    Oooh…I love your food photo! I am rolling on the floor laughing about this book Rain…I still can’t believe you don’t have it and I still think that you are missing a link somewhere to get it…some teeny little button that you just aren’t seeing…Heeheehee!

    Like

    1. I don’t know what it could be, Patty…I put in the info just like you did on your screenshot. Was there something else you didn’t show?

      At any rate, a site that is so challenging, if not impossible, for some to navigate (and I’m not totally inept, LOL) is not a site I want to visit.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Yum! Spinach and Feta Cheese Omelet sounds heavenly. I’ll pass on the Bloody Mary since Tequila is my alcoholic beverage of choice. V-8 sounds good with the omelet.

    Like

    1. I do love Tequila, Dagny….but vodka is probably my favorite. I always have to “special order” the omelet there, as the menu lists goat cheese, which I don’t like, and some weird tomatoes…so they have to switch up a few things for me…Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

