WEEKEND POTPOURRI: MORE TIDBITS ABOUT MY OBSESSIONS

 

Welcome to my Sunday Potpourri event, a place for sharing those little tidbits and obsessions in my life.  Yesterday, I had one of my favorite lunches at Mimi’s, where I ate and read a book…one that I finished and reviewed later, (click for review):  Little Black Lies.

 

 

 

91yXUBbGgRL._SL1500_

 

corn chowder, bread, martini

 

Today has been one of immersing myself in something I love to do….binge on Netflix.

I started watching Season I of Grace & Frankie, which is the only season available so far…and ended up watching all 13 episodes!  Some yesterday, and the rest today.

 

 

MV5BNjgwMTg2NTAzOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTc0MTI1NTE@._V1_SX214_AL_

 

It was truly addictive, especially since there were so many “old” favorite stars, like Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin, Martin Sheen, and Sam Waterston.

Every episode had another favorite crop up, like Christine Lahti (haven’t seen her in ages!), and Mary Kay Place…haven’t seen her since Big Love went off the air.

The story is interesting to me, in that four old friends (the men more so than the women, which has an unexpected twist), who have had 40 year marriages, raised children, and now, just when they are in the middle of their Golden Years, the men announce that they are in love with each other and have been for 20 years.

The setting is San Diego, CA, and there are lovely houses to divide.  The women end up in a La Jolla beach house…and we get to watch the women try to start over, set boundaries, and learn to nurture themselves (and each other).  But not in the way you might be thinking.  No, they don’t go there.

The ending was a kind of cliffhanger, so I hope this means there will be another season.

***

Now I am going to try to read some…I started Bittersweet last night, and it’s good.

 

 

18339743

 

On scholarship at a prestigious East Coast college, ordinary Mabel Dagmar is surprised to befriend her roommate, the beautiful, wild, blue-blooded Genevra Winslow. Ev invites Mabel to spend the summer at Bittersweet, her cottage on the Vermont estate where her family has been holding court for more than a century; it’s the kind of place where children twirl sparklers across the lawn during cocktail hour. Mabel falls in love with midnight skinny-dipping, the wet dog smell that lingers near the yachts, and the moneyed laughter that carries across the still lake while fireworks burst overhead. Before she knows it, she has everything she’s ever wanted:  friendship, a boyfriend, access to wealth, and, most of all, for the first time in her life, the sense that she belongs.
But as Mabel becomes an insider, a terrible discovery leads to shocking violence and reveals what the Winslows may have done to keep their power intact – and what they might do to anyone who threatens them. Mabel must choose: either expose the ugliness surrounding her and face expulsion from paradise, or keep the family’s dark secrets and make Ev’s world her own.

***

So far, I am not liking the rich girl, Genevra, at all.  She snarls and scowls too much, IMO, and even when she is offering invitations into her privileged life, she seems condescending.  But that’s me.  And maybe there is more to her story.

How has your weekend been shaping up?

***

 

4 thoughts on “WEEKEND POTPOURRI: MORE TIDBITS ABOUT MY OBSESSIONS

    • I know, right? I cannot see why poor Mabel gave her the time of day! But then, I guess that tells us a lot about Mabel.

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and that soup is delicious…and just looking at the photo makes me want more!

      Like

    • Oh, me too, Elizabeth…a book, a nice meal, and a drink. Perfect! The bread was delicious. Some of my friends call me a hermit, but nobody I know wants to go out as often as I do….plus, I love reading and eating in a restaurant.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

