HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: SEASONAL TREATS, BOOKISH & NON-BOOKISH

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good morning, and welcome to another Hump Day.  An October morning is crisp and beautiful, with just enough coolness in the air to make me feel fully alive.

I loved setting up my breakfast tray on the pub table (above), decorated with a few of my Halloween goodies.

What a great week it has been so far!  I just finished my second book of the week, Ruin Falls, (click for my review),

 

 

18248420

 

 

and jumped right into Further Out Than You Thought.

 

 

18505817

 

The first chapter did not engage me, and I started to get that feeling…you know the one:  Oh, no, what have I signed on for?

But then I started the second chapter, sped right through it, and on.  Now I am starting to feel the characters.  In the beginning, we see their “make believe” world, with pseudonyms, and then we begin to know who they really are.  Their dreams, their struggles.

But what I am eager to get to is this part:

 

When the city explodes in violence after the Rodney King verdict, the chaos becomes a catalyst for change. Valiant is invigorated, Leo plans a new stunt—walking into east L.A., naked, holding a white flag—and Gwen, discovering she is pregnant, is confronted by troubling questions. Can Leo become a good, dependable father? Can she leave the club life behind, or will the city’s spell prove too seductive?

Combining poetry and sensuality with an edgy urban sensibility, Further Out Than You Thought is a celebration of life and a haunting story of love, friendship, and one woman’s quest for redemption.

***

Now THAT’S what I want to get into.

***

Meanwhile, despite my vows to curtail the books I requested from Vine, I have two more on my stack and two headed my way.  Coming soon:

 

The Rosie Effect, by Graeme Simsion

 

22546489

 

The previous book, The Rosie Project, (click for my review) was the first book I read this year.  So I am definitely curious about where this book will take us.

Meanwhile, a new Jane Green book will soon show up in my mailbox, and I can’t wait!  Saving Grace.

 

 

 

81hb1jIq67L._SL1500_

 

 

Grace and Ted Chapman are widely regarded as the perfect literary power couple. Ted is a successful novelist and Grace, his wife of twenty years, is beautiful, stylish, carefree, and a wonderful homemaker. But what no one sees, what is churning under the surface, is Ted’s rages. His mood swings. And the precarious house of cards that their lifestyle is built upon. When Ted’s longtime assistant and mainstay leaves, the house of cards begins to crumble and Grace, with dark secrets in her past, is most vulnerable. She finds herself in need of help but with no one to turn to…until the perfect new assistant shows up out of the blue.  To the rescue comes Beth, a competent young woman who can handle Ted and has the calm efficiency to weather the storms that threaten to engulf the Chapman household. Soon, though, it’s clear to Grace that Beth might be too good to be true. This new interloper might be the biggest threat of all, one that could cost Grace her marriage, her reputation, and even her sanity.  With everything at stake and no one to confide in, Grace must find a way to save herself before it is too late.
Powerful and riveting, Saving Grace will have you on the edge of your seat as you follow Grace on her harrowing journey to rock bottom and back.
***
Oh, no, watch out for those mood swings…and those interlopers!  This one sounds impossible to put down.  I had bookmarked it as a download for Sparky, but then it came up on the Vine list…and I couldn’t be more excited. Thanks for the heads-up, Patty!
***
Do you have books you can’t wait to read?  Books you are bookmarking, buying impulsively, or requesting?  Do you feel more energized in the fall season?  I know that I do!
Enjoy!
***
2 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: SEASONAL TREATS, BOOKISH & NON-BOOKISH

  1. Love your festive breakfast setting! I know you want to be really good about Vine but…if you were going to buy them and read them anyway?

    I say do it!

    Like

    • Thanks! I can’t stop photographing things…LOL.

      As for the review books, that was my thinking, too, Patty…glad I found out about the Jane Green, since it doesn’t become available on Amazon until December!

      Hope I get the lovely cover….so far, so good with my books lately. Only ONE ugly cover.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

