THURSDAY POTPOURRI: RELEASED!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Happily, I get to stay in my cozy home every day for the rest of this week, if I wish.  I did my final check-in at the Jury website, and I am “discharged.”  Released!  Yay!

I feel like those kids who get to go home from school early, or those who get a holiday from work.

All morning, I have been fiddling around, waiting for the time (11:30) when I had to check into the Jury website.  I did have to run out and do a couple of errands, and even had a cup of coffee at Barnes & Noble, with one eye on my watch the whole time.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back home again, I’ve been plugging away on Pic Monkey, creating new headers for various blogs, and even my website.  My restless energy syndrome is alive and well….but now that I have been released, I can settle in and enjoy.

Do you hate having your routines in upheaval because of something hanging over your head?  How do you cope?

One thing I also did was go to Amazon Vine and order another book.  Yes, I had my review stack there pared down to two books, so I had to order another.

Then and Always, by Dani Atkins, is a debut novel that sounds so enticing.

 

 

71rPDx5UbXL._SL1500_

 

Blurb:  For fans of One Day, What Alice Forgot, and the hit film Sliding Doors, comes an absorbing and surprising debut novel about a young woman who, after an accident, gets a second chance at life . . . just not in one she remembers.
 
Rachel Wiltshire has everything she’s ever wanted: a close group of friends, a handsome boyfriend, and acceptance to the journalism program at her top-choice college. But one fateful evening, tragedy tears her world apart.

Five years later, Rachel returns home for the first time to celebrate her best friend’s wedding. Still coping with her grief, she can’t stop thinking about the bright future she almost had, if only that one night had gone differently. But when a sudden fall lands her in the hospital, Rachel wakes to find that her life has completely changed. Now the people she loves most are not the way she remembers them. Unable to trust her own recollections, Rachel tries to piece together what really happened, and not even she can predict the astonishing truth.

***

I’ve also downloaded four e-books already this week…I’ll be sharing more about them on Saturday.

***

5 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: RELEASED!

  1. Patty

    I am so glad that you are out of the jury duty situation…but…it’s almost Fall…time to nest and stack up those books…to tide you through those cold weather days…lol!

    Like

    1. I think so, too, Rita…and I’ve been very excited about the new books I’ve downloaded. One of the ones I got this week was The Murderer’s Daughters, which I think you read.

      And yes, there is just something annoying about the way they handle the Jury Duty summons…you get the notice in the mail, and then have to check in every day until you either go in or are released. And it always seems to come at a very inconvenient time…not that it’s ever convenient.

      It kind of makes me think of how I might feel if I got a notice from the IRS…LOL.

      Like

  2. Pingback: WEEKEND POTPOURRI: GOING OUTSIDE MY COMFORT ZONE | POTPOURRI

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

