SUNDAY POTPOURRI: BLISSFUL EUPHORIA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to my Sunday Potpourri.  Today has been one of blissful euphoria, with me traipsing off to the movies to watch If I Stay, for starters.

 

ifistay-posterart

 

This past week, I read the book and enjoyed it a lot.  But let me tell you…the movie was better!  Okay, for those who find that hard to believe, I’ll tell you why.

You know how there are numerous musicians in the book, from cello-playing Mia to guitar-playing Adam?  And then there is the history of Mia’s parents being rockers.  Well, music is definitely better in a movie than something we can only imagine in a book.

Otherwise, the movie stayed true to the book…and I liked how we flashed back to various points along the way, so we could mix the happy moments in with the sad ones.  So while I teared up in the movie, I also smiled.

When I got home, I watched a movie that my daughter has been urging me to see, and I found it On Demand.  At Middleton was all about one day out of time, if you will.  A man and a woman each bring their offspring —her daughter and his son—to tour Middleton College, and end up experiencing some unforgettable moments.

 

81auRB+zYgL._SL1500_

 

Academy Award nominees Andy Garcia (Ocean’s 11, City Island) and Vera Farmiga (A&E’s Bates Motel, Up in the Air) star as straight-laced, George and eccentric Edith, two strangers who meet on their children’s college tour at the idyllic Middleton University. Despite their opposing temperaments, George and Edith play hooky together, ditching the textbook tour for a carefree afternoon reminiscent of their youth. But what begins as an afternoon of fun soon becomes a revealing and enlightening experience that will change their lives forever. A light-hearted romance for adults on the surface, At Middleton is a deeply moving and enlightening portrait of the timelessness of romance and youth. Taissa Farmiga (“American Horror Story”), Spencer Lofranco (Jamesy Boy), Peter Reigert (“Dads”), and Tom Skerritt (“Picket Fences”) also star in this story about what can happen on your first day of college – no matter who you are – At Middleton.

***

Thanks, Heather, for the recommendation.  Now I want to add this one to my DVD library.

***

What has your Sunday been like?  Any time-out-of-time moments?  Good books or movies? 

***

4 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: BLISSFUL EUPHORIA

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

