SATURDAY POTPOURRI

SATURDAY POTPOURRI: WEEKEND TIDBITS

18240246

 

I am reading Until You’re Mine this morning and my heart is pounding as I imagine how the whole story will unfold.

MC Claudia Morgan-Brown is a social worker, which immediately helped me connect with her.  As a mother of two small step-sons (twins) and a wife of a Naval Officer who travels much of the time, her life is just as she wants it…except for a few missing pieces.  She wishes her husband were home more, for example.

When the “perfect” Nanny comes through their door, the red flags were immediately soaring for me.

We read the story in several perspectives…so we can see through numerous “eyes,” including those of a police detective investigating some bizarre murders.

***

It is a day for reading and movies.  I did a little housework, too, as I guiltily ignore some of the finer details of it throughout the week so that I can read and blog!

Today I rearranged some things in my office….returning the little clock to the wall by my desk.  For a while, it resided in my bedroom, but I don’t need it there.  I already have a digital clock on the chest of drawers.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found that little clock in one of the Crafters’ stores I used to visit.  Places I no longer frequent; I have more than enough STUFF!  LOL

After my little bit of dusting, etc., I went to my e-mails, where bargain e-books seemingly beckon, and found this one:

 

My Mother Was Nuts, by Penny Marshall.

 

 

51yY0LjI9KL

 

Most people know Penny Marshall as the director of Big and A League of Their Own. What they don’t know is her trailblazing career was a happy accident. In this funny and intimate memoir, Penny takes us from the stage of The Jackie Gleason Show in 1955 to Hollywood’s star-studded sets, offering up some hilarious detours along the way.

My Mother Was Nuts is an intimate backstage pass to Penny’s personal life, her breakout role on The Odd Couple, her exploits with Cindy Williams and John Belushi, and her travels across Europe with Art Garfunkel on the back of a motorcycle. We see Penny get married. And divorced. And married again (the second time to Rob Reiner). We meet a young Carrie Fisher, whose close friendship with Penny has spanned decades. And we see Penny at work with Tom Hanks, Mark Wahlberg, Whoopi Goldberg, Robert De Niro, and Whitney Houston.

Throughout it all, from her childhood spent tap dancing in the Bronx, to her rise as the star of Laverne & Shirley, Penny lived by simple rules: “try hard, help your friends, don’t get too crazy, and have fun.” With humor and heart, My Mother Was Nuts reveals there’s no one else quite like Penny Marshall.

***

I love reading about how people’s lives (especially the lives of celebrities and writers) take them to unexpected places.

What happily engages you on this summer weekend?

***

 

 

2 thoughts on “SATURDAY POTPOURRI: WEEKEND TIDBITS”

  1. We just finished watching The Escape Artist…a Masterpiece Mystery special in two parts…the last part is tomorrow…stars David Tennant whom I love! We are going out for a date tonight to one of our favorite spots. I am starving! And that’s our Saturday!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

