FRIDAY POTPOURRI: ENJOYING THE MOMENTS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A great Thursday evening was had by the two of us—Fiona and I had a nice dinner that she cooked, we watched some TV, read a little—and this morning I took her to the train station, as she is off to enjoy a weekend with friends at the beach.

 

Santa_Cruz,_California_-_Boardwalk

 

I know that moments with teenaged children or grandchildren are rare, due to their very busy social lives, so I am grateful for each and every moment.  It’s those moments that count.

As usual, my leisure time is spent reading and watching movies…and I am so looking forward to a new book headed my way.

The From-Aways, by C. J. Hauser, is an irreverent story of family, love, friendship, and lobsters, in the tradition of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Maine and Richard Russo’s Empire Falls.

 

410KHgwjn4L

 

Two women come to Maine in search of family, and find more love, heartbreak, and friendship, than they’d ever imagined one little fishing town could hold.

When Leah, a young New York reporter, meets Henry, she falls in love with everything about him: his freckles, green thumb, and tales of a Maine childhood. They marry quickly and Leah convinces Henry to move back to Menamon. As Leah builds a life there, reporting for The Menamon Star and vowing to be less of an emotional screw-up, the newlyweds are shocked to discover that they don’t know each other nearly so well as they thought they did.

When Quinn’s mother dies, she tracks down the famous folk-singer father she’s never known, in Menamon. Scrappy and smart-mouthed, Quinn gets a job at the local paper, an apartment above the town diner, and tries to shore up the courage to meet her father. But falling in love with her roommate, Rosie, was never part of the plan.

These two unruly women’s work relationship at The Star deepens into best-friendship when they stumble onto a story that shakes sleepy Menamon—and holds damaging repercussions for Leah’s husband and Quinn’s roommate both. As the town descends into turmoil, both women must decide what kind of lives they are willing to fight for.

***

And next I’ll be reading Until You’re Mine, by Samantha Hayes.

Riveting from its very first pages, Until You’re Mine is a multilayered masterwork of twisted, psychological suspense. Readers of Before I Go to Sleep and Turn of Mind will be enthralled by this multilayered novel, featuring a twisted plot that ends in a breathtaking and shocking finale.

 

18240246

 

***

What does your Friday look like?  As the weekend stretches before us, let’s enjoy the moments.

***

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI: ENJOYING THE MOMENTS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s