TUESDAY POTPOURRI: COOL BREEZES & GREAT SUMMER READS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Curled up here, in this slightly messy spot, I can see the TV…and behind me, the cool morning air wafts into my space through the open patio door.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The early morning hours are the only time I can feel cool breezes…by 10:00 a.m., the door closes and the air conditioning comes on.

Today I’m happily recharging Sparky, full with recently fed books, like this one that came today.

All Fall Down, by Jennifer Weiner, is a story of addiction and recovery.

 

8116xNnKXvL._SL1500_

 

Blurb:  Allison Weiss got her happy endinga handsome husband, adorable daughter, a job she loves, and the big house in the suburbs. But while waiting in the pediatrician’s office, she opens a magazine to a quiz about addiction and starts to wonder…Is a Percocet at the end of the day really different from a glass of wine? Is it such a bad thing to pop a Vicodin after a brutal Jump & Pump class…or if your husband ignores you?

The pills help her manage the realities of her good-looking life: that her husband is distant, that her daughter is acting out, that her father’s Alzheimer’s is worsening and her mother is barely managing to cope. She tells herself that they let her make it through her days…but what if her increasing drug use, a habit that’s becoming expensive and hard to hide, is turning into her biggest problem of all?

With a sparkling comedic touch and a cast of unforgettable characters, this remarkable story of a woman’s slide into addiction and struggle to find her way back up again is Jennifer Weiner’s most masterful work yet.

***

Today I’m  visiting Nantucket Island via Nancy Thayer’s book Nantucket Sisters.

 

81oy4Z1IuRL._SL1500_

 

I have only read a couple of chapters, but I’m loving it so far.  I was distracted last night by the return of some favorite shows from hiatus:  Switched at Birth and The Fosters.  I was surprised at how much I enjoyed them when they first came out, since they are not my usual fare.

I also love Major Crimes, which has returned as well.  So the Monday night lineup was heavy!

What does your day look like?  Do you have favorite TV shows that are returning now after a hiatus?

***

 

 

2 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: COOL BREEZES & GREAT SUMMER READS

  1. Patty

    Cozy spots and fresh air…not to forget to mention great books! I am sorry blogger is giving you issues! I don’t even know how to fix it!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Patty…I have had issues with Blogger occasionally over the years, but in the past week or so, they seemed to intensify. I don’t think any of us individuals can fix it. The “fault is in” (our stars?)… no, the Blogger folks. I have noticed it on several blogs….so it’s not just yours.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

