SUNDAY POTPOURRI: THE DAY BEFORE MONDAYS, WHICH I NOW LOVE, TOO!

sunday-potpourri

I do enjoy Sundays.  Which is interesting to me, since I used to hate Sundays.  Probably because it was the final day of the weekend, with Monday looming, casting its Blue Aura over my mood.   (Remember the Carpenter’s song:  “Rainy Days and Mondays” always get me down?).

As a tribute to that song, I created my Rainy Days and Mondays blog.  By the time I did, though, Mondays were good days for me.  I had retired and was enjoying my freelance lifestyle.

Which brings me back to why I now love Sundays.  A day to read and watch movies.  How is that different than other days?  Well, there is no schedule, for one thing.  I do my Sunday/Monday post, of course, and visit some blogs.  But no worries…everything is cool.

Last night, Noah and I hung out as his mom and her fiance went to a party.  We went to Barnes & Noble, and then we each read for a while.

I had picked up Keep Your Friends Close, by Paula Daly, planning to just start reading it.  At 2:00 a.m., I was still reading it!  Can’t put it down.  So good….

 

20763881

 

I have several Vine books to read in the next couple of weeks, so I have no business going to the site and ordering more…but I did.  Thanks, Patty!  LOL

Until You’re Mine, by Samantha Hayes, is a multi-layered masterwork of twisted, psychological suspense. Readers of Before I Go to Sleep and Turn of Mind will be enthralled by this multi-layered novel, featuring a twisted plot that ends in a breathtaking and shocking finale.

 

 

 

18240246

 

 

 

I should be getting it by Tuesday or Wednesday.  Meanwhile, I have several lovely books to read!

Today I’ve also been scanning old photos again…I thought I had already done most of the shots from the townhouse years (1988-1994), but I found some more.  Here’s one I enjoy:  Heather, at 13, in her teen room.  She collected signs, which she then posted on the wall.  She is talking on her Garfield phone.  And she has some kind of knee injury from sports.  Remember real phones?  Landlines?

 

Heather's teen room - townhouse

And here’s a shot of my three sons:  love saying that.  My Three Sons.  Remember the show?

 

My Three Sons - 1990

 

Nowadays, the three of them are seldom together.  Maybe two of them at a time, but with the eldest (right) living in Europe since 1997, it is a rare thing indeed.

 

What do you love about Sundays?  Is there a tradition you have that sets it apart from Saturdays?

***

 

4 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: THE DAY BEFORE MONDAYS, WHICH I NOW LOVE, TOO!

  1. So good to hear you loved the Paula Daly book – it certainly grabbed my attention. I have also read Until You’re Mine which came out in the UK last year – you are in for a real treat! I love the old photos, especially the Garfield phone.

    Like

    • Thanks, Cleopatra….and when that Garfield phone came out, there were lots of other “designer phones,” as they called them…I still have a few, like my Minnie Mouse phone and Winnie the Pooh.

      Can’t wait to read Until You’re Mine.

      Like

  2. Now I need to grab that Paula Daly book…something about the cover stopped me earlier…

    Do you dream of everyone being together at the same time? Or are you just used to the separation?

    Like

    • I do literally dream of get-togethers with all of us. I think the last real one was in 1997…isn’t that sad? Mostly we do get together, but minus Craig, our expatriate, after which we usually send him photos and Skype about it.

      We do all connect on Facebook, however.

      The cover on Keep Your Friends Close is pretty creepy…but I so loved Just What Kind of Mother Are You? that I knew I had to have it. Thanks for visiting, Patty.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

