MONDAY POTPOURRI: IMPATIENCE!

March Coziness

March Coziness

 

Waking up early today seemed odd, as I had been “training” my biological clock to keep me in bed until 7:00 a.m., at least.  But there I was, wide awake at 5:00 a.m., almost as if I hadn’t spent the last two months in “training.”

I’m not sure why…but since I didn’t feel tired, I decided to get out of bed.

And as I was checking my blogs, I realized that I hadn’t done a post here in ages!  My last one was all about my new novel coming out soon…and I really hope it’s sooner rather than later.  We moved along rather quickly with the book interior proofs, which are done.

Then came the cover design.  Okay…now I’m kind of obsessive about my covers.  I wanted something different from my first five books…and had a lovely conversation with the cover design consultant.  I thought we were on the same page.

And when I got the first three cover proofs, they were ALMOST just what I wanted.  The text, etc., all perfect.  But I just wanted a little tweaking on the cover images.

Now I’m told that I should have the revisions by Friday….I thought my head would explode!  I requested the revisions a week ago!  The original proofs only took a week.

So now I guess I’m going to whine…LOL.

You may have gathered that I am not a patient person when it comes to certain things.  I WANT IT NOW!

What to do?  Well, I could blog more, or I could read more.  And I could practice improving my ability to WAIT.

Here’s what I’m reading today:

18635113

 

In this darkly riveting debut novel—a sophisticated psychological mystery that is also a heartbreakingly honest meditation on memory, identity, and aging—an elderly woman descending into dementia embarks on a desperate quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared, and her search for the truth will go back decades and have shattering consequences.

I’m loving it already!  I can almost feel the terror of descending into dementia, since the story is told in Maud’s first person narrative.

I’ve also been playing around, creating a new blog header for one of my sites…to bring out during Bloggiesta weekend, when we make changes on a blog.  I don’t usually wait for these events for changes, but I like the opportunity to create a new header, clean up the sidebars, and change the blog theme.  The site I will be working on this time:  Curl up and Read.

What keeps you going during times when you are impatiently waiting for something?

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “MONDAY POTPOURRI: IMPATIENCE!

  1. Oh my! I did not realize that you were impatient! That is good to know! Is it the coming of Spring that changes our sleep patterns? I have been waking up at three…grabbing my Kindle…reading for an hour and then sleeping sort of comatosely! Not even hearing Den prep and leave for work! I wake up with a kitty sleeping on my face!

    Hopefully the cover will be perfect…and that book sounds good but sort of scary!

    Like

    • Yes, my impatience comes out when I’m in a situation over which I have no control. Alas, control issues! I do hope the new cover design proofs will allow me to finally choose the right cover!

      And ever since the time change, I think my sleep has been weird. I also wake up to read in the night, but didn’t last night. Which is probably why I woke up so early.

      It is very scary reading in a character’s voice about her loss of memory. Thanks for stopping by, Patty.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

