THURSDAY POTPOURRI: STRUGGLING TO ENGAGE

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Thursdays, I am usually poised to embrace the weekend ahead, but I am also sometimes feeling restless.  That restless feeling often leads me to rearrange things, but not today.  Today I have been going over the Vine newsletters again, even though a new one should be out soon…and I found another book to request from Last Harvest.

The Last Winter of Dani Lancing, by P. D. Vine, is a story about loss…and about obsession.

 

17262454

 

Twenty years ago, college student Dani Lancing was kidnapped and brutally murdered. The killer was never found. Dani’s family never found peace.

Thrust into an intense devastation that nearly destroys their marriage, Patty and Jim Lancing struggle to deal with their harrowing loss. Patty is fanatically obsessed with the cold case; consumed by every possible clue or suspect no matter how far-fetched, she goes to horrifying lengths to help clarify the past.  Meanwhile, Jim has become a shell of his former self, broken down and haunted—sometimes literally—by his young daughter’s death. Dani’s childhood sweetheart, Tom, handles his own grief every day on the job—he’s become a detective intent on solving murders of other young women, and hopes to one day close Dani’s case himself.

Then everything changes when Tom finds a promising new lead. As lies and secrets are unearthed, the heartbreaking truth behind Dani’s murder is finally revealed.
THE LAST WINTER OF DANI LANCING is a shockingly disturbing and deeply powerful debut, and P.D. Viner immediately joins the ranks of Tana French, A. S. A. Harrison, and Gillian Flynn.

***

The comparison to the authors listed above clinched it for me…And some of the reviews I read.  I don’t often check out reviews before ordering a book, but I’m very careful these days.  I don’t like struggling to engage with a story that just isn’t my cup of tea.

***

Right now, I’m reading Tumbleweeds, an e-book by Leila Meacham.  I’ll admit that I was drawn to it by some comparisons to Penny Vincenzi’s work…and while I’m enjoying it, I’m not quite ENGAGED yet.  So far, in the first hundred pages, the characters are still teenagers…and I’m feeling bored.  I’m not really a fan of teens…LOL.  At least not the teens in literature.

 

91quiyNevRL._SL1500_

 

Here’s a blurb from Amazon:  Recently orphaned, eleven-year-old Cathy Benson feels she has been dropped into a cultural and intellectual wasteland when she is forced to move from her academically privileged life in California to the small town of Kersey in the Texas Panhandle where the sport of football reigns supreme. She is quickly taken under the unlikely wings of up-and-coming gridiron stars and classmates John Caldwell and Trey Don Hall, orphans like herself, with whom she forms a friendship and eventual love triangle that will determine the course of the rest of their lives. Taking the three friends through their growing up years until their high school graduations when several tragic events uproot and break them apart, the novel expands to follow their careers and futures until they reunite in Kersey at forty years of age. Told with all of Meacham’s signature drama, unforgettable characters, and plot twists, readers will be turning the pages, desperate to learn how it all plays out.

***

I’m still waiting for their adulthood, which I hope will be more intriguing to me!

I purchased this e-book in 2012…and picking it up now is part of my plan to clear out some of the older books on Sparky, as well as those older books on my shelves.

I certainly hope that I begin to connect with it soon.  Otherwise, I will be tempted to buy (or request) more new books.

What do you do when a book doesn’t immediately grab you?  Do you hang in for a specific number of pages?

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: STRUGGLING TO ENGAGE

  1. Restlessness…I think it’s just the norm after realizing you read…not listened to…actually read 200 books…today would have been a good Netflix day! When I don’t get into a book ASAP? I pray that my feelings will change because I usually committed to reading it! And usually it does because any more I only read what I really like!

    Like

    • That’s what I’m discovering, too; how important it is to carefully select the books I’m going to read. I’m doing better now…so the older books, the ones on my shelves for two or three years, might not engage me as much as I’d like.

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty….and yes, it would be a great Netflix day. Last Sunday, I watched Netflix all afternoon, viewing several episodes of Orange is the New Black.

      Like

  2. Both books have great blurbs, which make them appealing to me. I hate to not finish a book! Years ago I would plod through to the bitter end, but no more. A while back I gave myself permission to release books that I couldn’t get into. One of my book clubs has a 100 page rule, but 100 pages can either be enough or too much, depending on the book.

    I like your idea of reading books that have been lingering on your e-reader or shelves for too long–I’m hoping to do that after the holidays. But I find it hard to resist all the shiny new books!

    Like

    • I am obsessed with new books, too, especially since I’m really more aware now of what books will appeal to me. But yes, I must read the old ones, too. A balance, perhaps?

      Thanks for stopping by, Catherine, and for sharing your thoughts. And as for Tumbleweeds, I finally reached a place of “no turning back.” I think I’m engaged!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

