THURSDAY POTPOURRI: AN EPIPHANY

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Good morning!  When I woke up this morning, I had an epiphany!  Since I am only three books away from my Goodreads goal of 200 reads…and since none of my review books are overdue or due for awhile…and since I already finished both library books….Well, what? Yes, that was a meandering sentence.  But I realized that I could read anything I wanted to read.  Yes!

First, though, I posted my review of the library book Invisible, by Carla Buckley (click on over to see!).

 

51lJAOCqXOL

 

Then I did my usual “after review” things, like linking the review on the “read” page at my Curl up and Read blog...and setting up the Currently Reading books on Goodreads.  Yes, I’m a bit compulsive.

What will I be reading?  I woke up thinking about houseboats…and Seattle.  So naturally, I picked Morning Glory, by Sarah Jio.

 

817SGSxp-OL._SL1500_

 

New York Times bestselling author Sarah Jio imagines life on Boat Street, a floating community on Seattle’s Lake Union—home to people of artistic spirit who for decades protect the dark secret of one startling night in 1959

Fleeing an East Coast life marred by tragedy, Ada Santorini takes up residence on houseboat number seven on Boat Street. She discovers a trunk left behind by Penny Wentworth, a young newlywed who lived on the boat half a century earlier. Ada longs to know her predecessor’s fate, but little suspects that Penny’s mysterious past and her own clouded future are destined to converge.

 

***

Doesn’t it sound delicious?  And now, as I sip my coffee, I imagine my day unfolding in lovely ways.  Totally savoring my read.  Next week will be soon enough to get back to the review books and the deadlines.  And…I am totally finished with blog tours.  Yippee!

Do you ever feel the need to forget your lists and your “must reads”?  Do you feel like you are free?  If not at Christmas time, when?

***

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

4 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: AN EPIPHANY

  1. First off, I loved all of Sarah’s books that I’ve read, including this one. Even though they all kind of follow the same theme, I still like them. Solving mysteries that happened years ago is always fun reading to see how the author ties the story altogether.

    This past year I decided to do very few book tours, and only entered 3 challenges, which I completed in about 3 months. I decided to try and read a few on my TBR pile this year and in 2014. However, that pile just keeps growing, I just cannot turn away from a good sounding book. On top of that BookBub has free books everyday, and it seems I can always find one that sounds like I would enjoy it, and since they are free, if I don’t care for it when I start reading it, I don’t feel guilty not finishing it. I am reading an interesting memoir this week, “From Pigtails to Chin Hairs” by Becky Lewellen Povich. It is bringing back so many of my own childhood memories. As you can figure out I am really enjoying it.

    Enjoy your free reading time this week.

    Like

    • Oh, thanks for stopping by, Gigi Ann…I am hoping to do a relatively challenge-free year in 2014. Reading from my own shelves and accepting some Amazon Vine review books.

      I am loving Morning Glory so far, and the houseboats (and Seattle) are a favorite setting for me, taking me back to a favorite movie: Sleepless in Seattle.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

