SUNDAY POTPOURRI: A WEE BIT OF CHRISTMAS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Every year, I go back and forth about how much Christmas decorating I will do…and each year, I bring out fewer things.

Is it because I’m trying to do the “less is more” thing?  Or is it really that I hate dragging in those big bins that are packed away in the garage, awaiting their “awakening” on the weekend after Thanksgiving?

The timing remains the same.  Always the weekend after Thanksgiving.  Sometimes even the very next day.

But I only opened two of the bins today…and maybe I will do more.  But I have three miniature Christmas trees, already decorated, in lieu of a big tree.  And after my last rearranging of the living room space, including the hearth, I don’t have room for the third tree.

So one of the trees (above) sits on the pub table.  And the other (with photos of the grandchildren, along with odds and ends), sits on the dining room table (below).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are a few things placed around the room…and then a wreath here:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like this little Gingerbread Boy hanging on a cupboard in the dining area:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That is a sampling of my “downsized Christmas.”

Do you enjoy doing the whole thing every year?  Do you dread dragging out the bins?  I know that some of you (Patty) listen to Christmas music while you bring out the goodies…and I also like the idea of eggnog.

eggnog

***

6 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: A WEE BIT OF CHRISTMAS

  1. Everything looks lovely and I love the idea of less is more…I try to streamline Christmas every year…i think! Right now…the bins are still exciting…surprises waiting to be opened!

    Like

    • I think I enjoy it more when I have helpers. The grandkids used to love doing it, but now, all are teenagers, except Noah. And Noah is busy this weekend…lol.

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty….and I’ll bet your bins are like little gifts waiting to be opened.

      Like

    • I think putting it all away afterwards is the most daunting for me. I usually try to do it on New Year’s…and after a late night of sipping eggnog and/or champagne…well, can we say tired and headachy? lol

      Thanks for visiting, Catherine, and enjoy. I think we can make the house festive with “less.”

      Like

  2. When we retired and moved South, I tossed most of the little (some ugly) little Christmas doodads I had been given and collected over the years. I do a small fake tree with my favorite ornaments even though some of them are really too big — they were made for a bigger tree. And then I do a few small tasteful touches and a wreath — and voila. That’s is. If I had grandchildren around a lot I might feel differently, but they are only here for a weekend. I like keeping it simple.

    Like

    • Yes, I definitely like the idea of small fake trees….I’m so done with the big production. But a few favorites that are sentimental, or just cute…well, that’s what I enjoy. And none of the grandkids come here for Christmas. Thanks for stopping by and sharing, Barbara.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

