MONDAY POTPOURRI: SLOGGING THROUGH

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I’m pondering the week ahead, and trying to read a book for a blog tour stop on 10/25/13, which happens to be my birthday.  Check out Should Be Reading, for other musings.

I wish I had picked a more “fun” read for this occasion!  And I accepted this book because I love all things JFK, or the Kennedys.  So why am I struggling to finish this book?  I am only halfway through, and every page has been a struggle.

Perhaps there is more backstory than I need.  Or maybe it’s because the text is dense on each page, requiring my full attention.  And a bit blinding, too, as the text is small.

When will I start to enjoy this one?  The only thing that saves it (for me) is that the chapters are short.

My plan was to finish it today.  I don’t think that is going to happen.  What book is it, you may ask?  I am almost reluctant to say, as perhaps I will suddenly start to love it.  And I don’t want to prejudice others by my random thoughts as I slog my way through.

Okay…it’s The Thunderbird Conspiracy.

15861389

The Thunderbird Conspiracy is the remarkable tale of Robert Kaye, a Hungarian freedom fighter who claimed he knew and collaborated with JFK assassin Lee Harvey Oswald. R. K. Price’s second novel is also a tale of a Nebraska farm boy who was a great admirer of President Kennedy and a true patriot who desperately wanted to believe his government’s hurried conclusion that Oswald had no accomplice. Yet his own harrowing experience at the hands of his government created profound doubt in his mind, and it haunted him to his death. These two men, one willfully acting, the other a true victim, became entangled in the most notorious crime of the 20th century. This saga of intrigue and murder was revealed to the author on a wintry Colorado day about three weeks before the farm boy’s ravaged heart gave out. That man was R. K. Price’s uncle. His name was Bud Carlson. Price stashed away Bud’s account of Robert Kaye, letting it lay dormant for nearly forty years until he could corroborate his uncle’s story with the release of previously secret FBI files from the National Archives. With the 50th anniversary of Kennedy’s assassination Price has brought Robert Kaye and Bud Carlson back to life. Their incredible story will leave you questioning just how and why JFK was taken from America far too early.

***

Doesn’t it sound exciting?  I’m still waiting for the hook….My concerns are about how much information is presented, and not in a way that intrigues or captivates me.  So far.  There are moments…and I’m hoping those will start happening more often.

I hope that suddenly I will find myself totally enraptured with this book, as I generally love all things Kennedy…and enlightenment about a conspiracy was what led me to choose this book.

What do you do (if anything) when you find yourself slogging along, trying to connect with a book that isn’t doing it for you? 

My vow:  no more blog tours after the ones I’ve already accepted.  Usually the books are from authors I haven’t read before…and I have discovered that unknown authors can lead to moments/days of boredom.

20 thoughts on “MONDAY POTPOURRI: SLOGGING THROUGH

  1. I rarely give up on a book. But sometimes–usually when I’m more than halfway through–I’ll realize that the plot hasn’t grabbed me, I don’t care about the characters, and if I stopped reading, I’d never wonder how the book ends. It generally takes all that to make me close a book and donate it to a local charity. I do wonder, however, how some books get published! I hope this one picks up and you end up enjoying it.

    Like

    • Oh, I hope so, too, Sandra, as I really want to like it. So much can improve when a book is presented with easily readable text and few grammatical errors. I have to wonder about this one. And I’m still hoping…a glimmer of hope. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. I used to read books to the end, knowing that I had been talking about the book for weeks on my blog simply because I felt that I owed it to my followers to write a review. I now give a book 100 pages, and if it hasn’t grabbed me I put it down. Like Sandra, most times I will donate it, unless I think that maybe I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind at that particular time to really let myself grasp the story. If it falls into the latter, I will put it back on my shelf and try to pick it up at another time. If a second try fails, off to the donate bag. ~Deanna

    Like

  3. I am always very interested in “all things Kennedy” (I actually have a whole shelf of books about JFK and the rest of the family) but I hadn’t heard about this book. It’s disappointing when a book you’r eager to read just doesn’t measure up. I tend to give books like that a fair shot, but I’ve long ago decided that, if I’m not reading a book for a required class, then I’m not obligated to finish! There are too many books out there waiting for their chance!

    Like

    • If I hadn’t committed to the blog tour, I would have tossed it awhile ago. However, I have now read 200 pages and there are 130 or so remaining. And (finally) the story is starting to pick up a little. I hope it doesn’t sink back into tedium! Thanks for stopping by, Bookmammal.

      Like

  4. Every once in a while, a particular book turns out to be a beast. It’s disappointing, especially when it’s a book you think you’ll enjoy or that others are raving about. This is when I remember that not every book is for every reader. Hope you find something redeeming in this one.

    Like

    • Now that I have passed the p. 200 mark, things are starting to pick up. I’m hoping it will engage me for the rest of the journey. Thanks for stopping by, Catherine, and I don’t mind when that happens unless I’m obligated (committed) to reading a book for a blog tour.

      Like

  5. Wow…I am not even excited by the cover of that book…you are amazing to keep on reading…I usually write the blog promoter a note and just tell them I can’t do it…I can’t read one more word…that is why I am not doing tours again. Ever! But…you go, girl!

    Like

    • I only have one more tour book to read (I think!)….and then, I swear I’m done! Keep reminding me of that, Patty…I really hate them for a number of reasons, but especially for the deadlines and the feeling of being “forced” to read.

      Like

  6. Too bad when a book is a struggle to read. And happy early birthday– mine is the week after yours 🙂 But if it is for a tour then it’s true, we should find something redeeming in the story and try to understand why it is written in the style it is.

    Like

    • I seldom read books written by men—this sounds sexist, doesn’t it?—but MOST of them are not written in the style I enjoy. And the ones I’ve read lately tend to fill us with facts….and not always in an appealing manner.

      There are exceptions, of course, like Pat Conroy or Wally Lamb. And I read a delightful one by a male, Sinnerman, that I’ll be reviewing for blog tour on October 16.

      Thanks for stopping by, Rita, and thankfully the book has picked up a bit. I’ll try to finish it today.

      Like

  7. Pingback: HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: THAT RESTLESS FEELING | POTPOURRI

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

