WEEKEND POTPOURRI: NEW BOOKS, NEW TV SHOWS, & FAVORITE RETURNS….

boudoir in late august

Welcome to Weekend Potpourri, a post that is all about the odds and ends, tidbits, and even the obsessions that are central to the upcoming weekend.

To launch the weekend, I had to pick up some mail, which included two new review books I’m excited about.

The Thunderbird Conspiracy, by R. K. Price, is a story that takes a peek behind what we think we know about the assassination of JFK…and speculating about other possibilities.

15861389

The Thunderbird Conspiracy is the remarkable tale of Robert Kaye, a Hungarian freedom fighter who claimed he knew and collaborated with JFK assassin Lee Harvey Oswald. R. K. Price’s second novel is also a tale of a Nebraska farm boy who was a great admirer of President Kennedy and a true patriot who desperately wanted to believe his government’s hurried conclusion that Oswald had no accomplice….

I’ll be reviewing this book at my blog tour stop on 10/25/13 (incidentally, my birthday!):  at Rainy Days and Mondays blog.

Next, I have an exciting and intriguing book called Woman on Top, by Deborah Schwartz. (Blog Tour Stop:  11/14/13)

18132220

Introducing: Woman on Top, a sexy, romantic self-empowerment novel tucked between two covers.

***

I’m also excited about catching up with new fall shows…on my DVR and those airing over the weekend.  I love the fall for so many reasons, but one of the best reasons (for me) is the return of old favorite shows, as well as the release of new ones.

Has anyone watched The Blacklist?  Or Hostages?  How about The Crazy Ones, a funny one starring Robin Williams?

I am also happy to see the characters again in Parenthood and Grey’s Anatomy. 

Another task:  trying to organize my TBR stacks.  One of my challenges for 2013 was to read 24 books from those stacks, books received before 2013.  So far, I’ve only read 18!  So I found six more to read in the upcoming weeks, and I’m devouring one of them now, a book I bought for Sparky in 2012.

Sink or Swim by Stacy Juba, is a mystery that has a reality TV show, a stalker, and a little romance.

3339

It’s hard enough being famous and not rich. When a stalker enters the picture, reality TV has never seemed so real. Ambitious personal trainer Cassidy Novak has gained fame for starring on Sink or Swim, a hit reality show. Not only does she lose and have to walk the plank, but after the game show ends, the terror begins.

***

What does your weekend hold for you?  Reading, movies, outings?  Come on by and share…..I’ll be curled up on this sofa….or on the bed shown at the top of the post….

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

2 thoughts on “WEEKEND POTPOURRI: NEW BOOKS, NEW TV SHOWS, & FAVORITE RETURNS….

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

