FRIDAY POTPOURRI: FOUND TREASURES — JUNE 28

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This morning, I’ve been enjoying the cool breeze from the open patio door…again.  And boiling eggs, recharging my Kindle, and rereading a few posts here that I enjoy, like A Mug Story.

 

 

A Mug Story

A Mug Story

 

 

 

And then there’s my Attitude Adjustment story.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I start rereading old posts, boiling eggs, and recharging my Sparky…I suspect that there is more going on.  Restless energy.  Lots of things to do, but it’s too early to do most of them.  It’s barely six a.m. here, and I’ve been up for two hours.

It was boiling hot!  Sticky hot in my room, and I don’t like to sleep with the air conditioning on…I may have to rethink that.

I did have the opportunity to peruse the Amazon Vine newsletter that came in yesterday (and I’d forgotten to look for it then!).  I am quite happy that I did, though, as I found a sequel to a book I loved a few weeks ago:  Don’t Let Me Go, by Susan Lewis.

81Yi7GTIQmL._SL1500_

In this follow-up to the riveting international bestseller No Child of Mine, author Susan Lewis delivers an emotionally complex novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—of reinvention, reconnection, and the deepest love that can bind two people together.Charlotte Nicholls can hardly believe it, but it seems she’s landed in paradise. Living in a cottage in a shady cove on the beautiful Bay of Islands, surrounded by the splendor of New Zealand, Charlotte revels in her new life. She and her nearly four-year-old daughter, Chloe, have started over, with the help of Charlotte’s birth mother, Anna, who has recently reentered Charlotte’s life after a twenty-six-year absence. Little Chloe is thriving in her new home, and despite lingering effects from a terrible trauma Chloe has suffered, Charlotte is hopeful that love will pull her through. And though their relationship is tentative, Charlotte and Anna are slowly rebuilding their trust after nearly a lifetime apart.   But the horrors of the past—both recent and long buried—are never far from Charlotte’s mind. And then their idyll is suddenly shattered, as a series of events is set in motion that Charlotte can neither control nor comprehend. It will take all of Charlotte’s strength to keep her little family together, in the face of a world that will do everything it can to tear them apart.

***

Don’t you love the serendipity of life when you find something you were wanting…and it’s there for the taking?

I also found After Her, by Joyce Maynard, a book I had already preordered.  Now I can cancel that order, as the book is winging its way to me…free!

51fcrGG3rQL

The New York Times bestselling author of Labor Day and The Good Daughters returns with a haunting novel of sisterhood, sacrifice, and suspense

I was always looking for excitement, until I found some . . .

Summer, 1979. A dry, hot Northern California school vacation stretches before Rachel and her younger sister, Patty—the daughters of a larger-than-life, irresistibly handsome (and chronically unfaithful) detective father and the mother whose heart he broke.

***

I already received two Vine books this week, which I’ll talk more about later…and now four more are headed my way, including the two I found today.  Can you say “found treasure”?

What serendipitous moments have you had this week?

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI: FOUND TREASURES — JUNE 28

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s