book treasures, books, Thursday Potpourri

THURSDAY POTPOURRI: A BONANZA OF GIFTS IN THE MAILBOX — MAY 30

271af6949dfffd3f430b46653fc214e6.jpg

Today has been lovely.  Not that hot yet, but just right.  Spring-like, and I approached the mailbox with a “spring” in my step, feeling quite sure that I would receive at least one goodie in the box.

Imagine my surprise to receive a bonanza of three books and one pair of pants that I’d ordered.

Two Vine books and one author review request:  Lovely!  And the ARCs all had their pretty covers on….that always makes me happy.

Coming Clean, by Kimberly Rae Miller, is a story about recognizing where you come from and understanding the relationships that define you. It is also a powerful story of recovery and redemption.  Yes, my first “hoarder” book of the year…I think.

16218778

Flora, by Gail Godwin, is a darkly beautiful novel about a child and a caretaker in isolation; it evokes shades of The Turn of the Screw and also harks back to Godwin’s memorable novel of growing up, The Finishing School. With its house on top of a mountain and a child who may be a bomb that will one day go off, Flora tells a story of love, regret, and the things we can’t undo.It will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

16034245

I know I’ve written about ordering these two books from the Vine newsletter….but I couldn’t resist sharing their arrival.

This next book I haven’t mentioned anywhere yet, as I didn’t know that I’d be getting it for sure. 

Innocent Little Crimes, by C. S. Lakin.

Six naïve guests plus revenge served cold equals a recipe for disaster…

Lila Carmichael may be a rich and famous comedienne, but she’s hidden her greatest talent from her adoring fans–her ability to simmer, spice and serve a carefully constructed tour de force at a cozy reunion on her private island in the Pacific Northwest….

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00067]

The Pacific Northwest is one of my favorite novel settings.  Seattle is gorgeous, despite all the rain, or maybe because of it….plus the islands evoke such mysterious feelings.  The isolation alone hooked me, the first time I visited one of them.  And who doesn’t love that feeling of being all alone in the world, completely cocooned in a special little nest?

What are you enjoying on this last Thursday in May?


4 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: A BONANZA OF GIFTS IN THE MAILBOX — MAY 30”

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

