SATURDAY POTPOURRI: BLOG ACTIVITIES & READING — MARCH 23

Living room sofa

I’ve been spending quite a bit of time on this sofa today, reading and watching shows on my DVR.  But I’m also in my office spiffing up some blogs for Bloggiesta.  Check out my plans.

office-goodies-framed

Over at Curl up and Read, I’ve been doing a makeover.  I changed the theme and header (of course!); I uncluttered my sidebar just a bit, updating some of the widgets.

And I’ve been lurking at other bloggers’ sites, trying to find great ideas.

My reading this week has taken an odd turn. Usually I stick to my planned list of reads, occasionally adding a book that wasn’t on the list.

But this week, not only did I add a book, I’ve changed another one completely.  I won’t go into detail about the book I’ve abandoned, but suffice it to say that I just wasn’t connecting to it.  Maybe later.

Meanwhile, I’m enjoying this one:

Ctrl Z, by Danika Stone

17561069

There’s a connection brewing between Indigo, the female protagonist, and a computer techie named Jude (think “Hey Jude”).  There is going to be some hacking, I’m pretty sure.  I’m only 50 pages into it so far, interrupting myself periodically to do some blog stuff.

I’m also eagerly anticipating a new book I’ve ordered that should arrive in the mail today…but if not today, surely on Monday.

Lucky Me, by Sachi Parker (Shirley MacLaine’s daughter), was a book I wasn’t certain I wanted to read.

15985391

I hope this is not going to be a whiny diatribe of her mother’s choices….but even so, I’m looking forward to the photos.

I’m also expecting two new Amazon Vine reads:

The Time of My Life, by Cecelia Ahern

51qgEE3YBDL._SY320_

Lucy Silchester keeps receiving this strange appointment card and sweeping its gold embossed envelope under the rug. Literally. She busies herself with a job she doesn’t like, helping out friends, fixing her car, feeding her cat, and devoting her time to her family’s dramas. But Lucy is about to find out that this is one appointment she can’t miss, when Life shows up at her door, in the form of a sloppy but determined man.

Life follows her everywhere – from the office, to the bar, and to her bedroom – and Lucy learns that some of the choices she has made and the stories she has told aren’t what they seem. Now her half-truths are about to be revealed, unless Lucy tells the truth about what really matters to her.

***

And Life After Life, by Jill McCorkle (I’m also soon getting the book by the same name by Kate Atkinson)

15952899

Award-winning author Jill McCorkle takes us on a splendid journey through time and memory in this, her tenth work of fiction. Life After Life is filled with a sense of wonder at our capacity for self-discovery at any age. And the residents, staff, and neighbors of the Pine Haven retirement center (from twelve-year-old Abby to eighty-five-year-old Sadie) share some of life’s most profound discoveries and are some of the most true-to-life characters that you are ever likely to meet in fiction.
There’s retired third-grade teacher Sadie Randolph, who has taught every child in town and believes we are all eight years old in our hearts; Stanley Stone, a prominent lawyer, now feigning dementia to escape life with his son; Marge Walker, the town’s self-appointed conveyor of social status, who keeps a scrapbook of every local murder and heinous crime; Rachel Silverman, recently widowed, whose decision to leave her Massachusetts home and settle at Pine Haven is a puzzle to everyone but her; C.J., the pierced and tattooed young mother who runs the beauty shop; and Joanna Lamb, the hospice volunteer who discovers that her path to a good life lies in helping people achieve good deaths. As each character 
begins to connect with another, the mysteries and consequences of their lives are revealed. What they eventually learn about themselves and one another will profoundly transform them all.

***

I think I’m in for a treat!  So what books are you eagerly awaiting?  What weekend plans are consuming your time?

As a nod to spring, I’ve changed from my dark nail polish to this lavender shade: (Please overlook the weird, wrinkly knuckles!  lol).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “SATURDAY POTPOURRI: BLOG ACTIVITIES & READING — MARCH 23

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

