THURSDAY POTPOURRI: BOOKS & LIFE MOMENTS

PomegranateMartiniQTMWebReduce

Yesterday started out great…it was a nice lazy day; I finished reading and reviewing Nine Months; I was getting ready to read a book on Sparky, called Kinsey and Me; and I decided to visit my daughter at the bar where she works.  A pomegranate martini sounded perfect!

While I was at it, I decided to order a chicken salad.  Bliss!

nine months

After a nice visit with my daughter and some of the friends who had gathered there, I went on home and curled up to watch a TV show.

About an hour later, I got a frantic call from my daughter.  Noah’s after school program had called to say he was running a fever.  So, since she was still working, I hustled across town, while mumbling to myself about how I wished the school were closer to where I live.

Poor Noah curled up on my sofa as soon as we got home, with a cool cloth and some juice.

Comfy Couch

Picture him lying on the sofa above.

Naturally, I was now curled up nearby, reading…and anxiously waiting for his mom to come.  Before he finally went home, he upchucked, too; but luckily made it to the bathroom.

Envisioning the next couple of days playing nursemaid—a job I was never good at even when I was young, although my kids never complained—I sighed.  Resigned.

But instead, today my daughter rescheduled her appointments at the salon where she also works and stayed home with him.

So I am now free to resume my normal life, while feeling guilty at how relieved I feel!

Nevertheless, I picked up Kinsey and Me again…loving it!  I thoroughly enjoy the character, Kinsey Millhone, a private eye who is featured in the Grafton alphabet mystery series.  And since the next alphabet book (W) hasn’t been released yet, I get to enjoy the character while waiting.

9780399163838

The book is a short story collection featuring Kinsey, and the second half shares stories about the author.

What books or other events are capturing your attention on a Thursday?  What interruptions take you away from your reading, and, at the same time, make you feel guilty for being frustrated?

4 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: BOOKS & LIFE MOMENTS

  1. Hi Laurel-Rain,

    I have to say, that it is generally my blogging schedule which gets in the way of my reading time. Organising and writing posts seems to take up much of my evening, by the time I have got home, prepared dinner and we have eaten. That only leaves a quiet half hour or so in the early morning hours, when I get the chance to curl up with my book and a mug of strong black coffee.

    I was a little dubious about the sound of ‘Nine Months’, too many gory details when you don’t have children of your own!! and after reading your candid and honest review, I am definitely going to give this one a miss.

    Again, as I haven’t had children of my own, the horrors of children ‘throwing up’, are something I can well live without. I am so bad, that I would end up by being ill with them!!

    I do hope that little Noah isn’t too ill though and that he will be back to his normal self again very soon.

    Yvonne

    Like

    • He usually recovers pretty quickly….and I wish I were more patient about caring for my sick kids (and now grandkids), but I guess we’re not supposed to enjoy it! The worst part is not knowing when they might take a turn for the worse and require a visit to the ER. Thanks for stopping by, Yvonne….

      Like

  2. You should not feel guilty at all…you did what she asked and I think you are aways there for your children and grandchildren…it is really hard to care for someone who isn’t feeling well!

    Like

    • Definitely! Patty, I guess I thought those “sick” days were over when my kids grew up…but they still give us cause for worry even as adults; and, of course, there are the grandkids.

      You’re sweet to make me feel less guilty….

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

