SUNDAY POTPOURRI: EXPLORING THE TO-BE-READ STACKS — JAN. 20

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to another Sunday Potpourri, my “other” Sunday post.  Why have a separate one?  Well, the Sunday Salon is a more formal blogging post, with its own Facebook group and all, and my thoughts here are totally random.

I wasn’t even planning to write a post here today, but then I gave up on a library book that I had thought I would read today, and came back to my stacks to search for something else.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What you cannot see in this photo is the table behind the bookcase…and there you’ll see other stacks.  Those are the OLD stacks, the books I bought before 2007.  That stack dwindled to seven books that I plan to read…someday.  But they are all pretty chunky and they’re primarily memoirs.  So I have to be in the mood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see them in this photo…to the extreme right.

Today’s search led to this book, which has been on my newer stacks for awhile, but not a long, long time.

3322

Last Light Over Carolina, by Mary Alice Monroe, explores a vanishing feature of the southern coastline, the mysterious yet time-honored shrimping culture, in a convincing and compelling tale of an enduring marriage.

I’m hoping to be captivated by it, because once I’ve set down a book without finishing it, I feel spooked.  As if I’m destined to be bored by everything I pick up.  But that is unlikely.

And the book I put down would probably have intrigued me at another time in my life…or even on another day of the week.

Does that ever happen to you?  Pick up a book and expect to like it and then give up in disappointment?  I’m glad it was a library book.

As for library books, I have requested a few more, and one of them is available now.  I’m picking it up tomorrow…or maybe this afternoon.

Goodnight Nobody, by Jennifer Weiner, is a semi-accidental mother of three, suburbia has been full of unpleasant surprises. Her once-loving husband is hardly ever home. The supermommies on the playground routinely snub her. Her days are spent carpooling and enduring endless games of Candy Land, and at night, most of her orgasms are of the do-it-yourself variety.

When a fellow mother is murdered, Kate finds that the unsolved mystery is the most exciting thing to happen in Upchurch, Connecticut, since her neighbors broke ground for a guesthouse and cracked their septic tank. Even though the local police chief warns her that crime-fighting’s a job best left to the professionals, Kate launches an unofficial investigation — from 8:45 to 11:30 on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, when her kids are in nursery school.

As Kate is drawn deeper into the murdered woman’s past, she begins to uncover the secrets and lies behind Upchurch’s picket-fence facade — and considers the choices and compromises all modern women make as they navigate between marriage and independence, small towns and big cities, being a mother and having a life of one’s own.

14756

I thought I had already read all the books out there by this author, but I guess I missed this one.  Or I totally forgot it, since nothing about it sounds familiar.  And I don’t have it on my shelves!

Do you ever question whether or not you’ve read a book after glancing at the blurb?

4 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: EXPLORING THE TO-BE-READ STACKS — JAN. 20

    1. Yes, there is definitely a lot to read…which is why I don’t feel too bad about not finishing one now and then. Why struggle to enjoy something when there are books I will love? Thanks for visiting, Patty, and good luck clearing your stacks.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

