weekend potpourri

WEEKEND POTPOURRI: NEW PERSPECTIVES, NEW BOOKS — OCT. 19

Yesterday I snapped the photo above…I seldom take shots from the other side of this room, and I wondered why.

What is missing from the photo is the vignette that rests on the top….

It’s like seeing something new when we capture a different version of a room.  So today I sat in the chair facing this cupboard, which has its own story.  I found it in a favorite shop in an adjacent village well-known for its fabulous antiques section.  While this cupboard wasn’t an antique, it captured my interest.  It had a quirkiness.  Plus, it had a small crack in the side (which I’ve covered with that banner), and I got 30% off.

The crack doesn’t affect its function, or even its appearance, with that cute banner hiding the flaw.  And in a condo short of cabinet space in the kitchen, I could display some of my fun stuff.

As you probably know, I have lots of cabinets in this dining room; they encase little trinkets, as well as some of my books.

I like reading at this table in the morning.  Today I finished Blackberry Winter here, while eating my yogurt. (Click link for review).

Next I’ll be reading Tuesday’s Gone, the sequel to Blue Monday.  A grisly thriller.

This morning, after reading for awhile, I made the mistake (perhaps!) of going on Facebook; in the news feed, I saw a link to an Erica Spindler novel that I’d missed.  So naturally, I had to check it out.  And almost with a mind of its own, it downloaded itself onto Sparky…lol

Killer Takes All is another mystery.  It’s about The White Rabbit, who beckons you to follow him, down the rabbit hole, into his world. He’s a deceiver, a trickster. You won’t know what is truth and what is a lie. He aims to best you. Beat you. And when he does, you die.

Now, of course I didn’t NEED this book…but somehow I couldn’t resist.  That’s what happens when my Sparky begs to be fed.

What exciting events are happening in your world?  Books?  Interior design?  Quirky things?

2 thoughts on “WEEKEND POTPOURRI: NEW PERSPECTIVES, NEW BOOKS — OCT. 19”

  1. Hmmm…lets see…exciting things going on in my world?
    Toes and nails got done today…and I made a slow cooker filled with homemade baked beans…Den is off for a week…we had plans to go to Maine…but we cancelled everything…we don’t feel like leaving! So odd for us…we jump at the chance to go to Maine…but we do not want to!

    Like

    1. Sometimes it’s good to just stay at home and nest….I used to do more traveling, but lately I’ve been staying close to home. Your baked beans sound delicious…enjoy! Thanks for visiting, Patty.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

