FRIDAY POTPOURRI: TIDBITS FROM THE EDGE — MAY 25

Welcome to Friday Potpourri, during which I will share snippets about reading, life, etc.

I’m currently reading Objects of My Affection, by Jill Smolinski:  a book about a woman who takes on the task of decluttering the home of an eccentric artist.

My fascination with this topic is no secret…as a collector of all kinds of objects, ranging from books to dolls and fairytale images, I think I might be searching for validation and reassurance that I am not actually a hoarder.

Maybe it’s because someone called me a hoarder once and the label pierced my sensitive soul…lol

But after reading a memoir about the topic, along with other interesting articles, and after watching the hoarder show, I’m fairly certain I haven’t crossed that line.  Didn’t I just talk about this topic, though, you might ask?

Yes…but what is inserting itself into my thoughts today is a horrific dream I had last night: I had only hours to pack up my house and move.  I’m not sure why the haste, but the panic I felt at the prospect woke me up with a pounding heart.  And I didn’t want to go to sleep again!

Once awakened, I started obsessing about my laptop shopping.  What does this have to do with anything?  Well, I do tend to ruminate over unresolved issues when I awaken in the middle of the night, so naturally, everything I had learned in my shopping exploration yesterday was right there, floating in my mind, and keeping sleep at bay.  Finally I was able to set that aside with the reminder that I didn’t have to decide anything right then and there.

Something else that is keeping me up at night is 11/22/63, by Stephen King; I’m reading it primarily at night.  Bad idea?  I can’t put it down, though, and I’m more than half finished.  I’m totally engaged!

Have you read either of these books?  I’m glad they are quite different from one another, as I sometimes have difficulty keeping details separated while reading two books at once.  I know many people can read several, listen to a few on audio, and keep it all sorted out…but I’m not one of those people.

But I just know that I’m loving the character of Jake Epping, who is living in the 1950s and 60s as George Amberson and finding himself totally connected to the people and the place where he has landed.

King has really brought the flavor of that era to life for me, reminding me of what it was like being young during those iconic times.

Yesterday, I finished reading Another Piece of My Heart, by Jane Green (click title for review)…and again, enjoyed every minute, even when I was frustrated with the characters.  A very emotional read for me.

I think my weekend will be full of intriguing books, strolls through malls, and lunches in some of my favorite places.  What does your weekend look like?  What are you excited about?

2 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI: TIDBITS FROM THE EDGE — MAY 25

  1. I wondered about your comment yesterday about Jane Green’s book…I loved it and I was thinking that you didn’t…but now I get it…

    Did you decide on a laptop?

    What happened to yours?

    Like

    • I’ve never had one, Patty…only the desktop, which seems to be slowly dying….Shhh…maybe it won’t happen if I don’t say it out loud.

      I want to get the laptop first!

      Today my son came over with his and was showing me how to get Wireless Internet connection. I had forgotten that I changed from the default code, but I finally remembered where I wrote it down! lol

      And yes, I loved Jane Green’s book…just some of the characters were annoying, like Emily and Ethan…lol

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

