FRIDAY POTPOURRI: BOOK BEGINNINGS & THE FRIDAY 56 — APRIL 20

Welcome to a potpourri of fun today as we share Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and as we showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

Today I’ve grabbed a book from my TBR stacks; it will be on next week’s reading list.  The Accidental, by Ali Smith, explores the nature of truth, the role of fate, and the power of storytelling.

Blurb:  Arresting and wonderful, “The Accidental” pans in on the Norfolk holiday home of the Smart family one hot summer. There, a beguiling stranger called Amber appears at the door bearing all sorts of unexpected gifts, trampling over family boundaries and sending each of the Smarts scurrying from the dark into the light. A novel about the ways that seemingly chance encounters irrevocably transform our understanding of ourselves, “The Accidental” explores the nature of truth, the role of fate, and the power of storytelling. This book will change you.

***

Beginning:  My mother began me one evening in 1968 on a table in the cafe of the town’s only cinema.

Okay…since it’s a bit startling, I’m pulled right in.  It makes me wonder why this book has been languishing on my stacks for so long!

***

p. 56:  She has him by the leg; she is holding very tightly round it with both her arms.  Her arms are bare.  The leg she is holding is shaking against her chest; her face.

***

What will the rest of you tempt me with today?  Come on by and share, please!

32 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI: BOOK BEGINNINGS & THE FRIDAY 56 — APRIL 20

    • I don’t know why I haven’t read it sooner…it’s been on my stacks for eons…lol

      I think it sounds really good, so I hope to enjoy it. Thanks for visiting, Patty, and my eyeballs are exploding from Pinterest! lol

      Like

  1. That’s quite the start and the 56 leaves me wondering what on earth is going on! May have to check this one out. Thanks for visiting my blog earlier.

    Like

  2. Well, that is a startling beginning! But I definitely want to read more. What a relationship she must have with her mother to be privvy to that kind of information!

    Thanks for linking your post on Book Beginnings!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

