MONDAY POTPOURRI: MUSINGS — APRIL 16

 

 

Welcome to Monday Potpourri, which today features Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

Every Monday, our leader hands us a prompt, and today’s is:

What are you currently reading? And, is it better, as good as, or worse than your last read?

That’s an easy one, since yesterday’s read was SO good, that I read all day and finished it.  Come Home, by Lisa Scottoline, was a fast-paced suspenseful read that consumed my day. (Click link for the review).

 

Today I’m reading a nonfiction title that is interesting, but definitely one that is mostly full of facts.  On Their Own, by Martha Shirk, is a revelatory read about what happens to foster kids when they age out of the system at eighteen (or later, depending on funding).

So far, I’m not learning anything really new, but that’s not the fault of the author.  I actually lived these experiences in my social work career, often helping teenagers transition out of care.

What I’m finding so far are the stories of young people who have gone through these experiences, and how they fared afterwards.  Some better than others, which I found to be true as well.

So…the read is not one I can compare to the previous one, since it’s not an escape read.  I do enjoy mixing my books up, though, so I expect to be satisfied with this one.  Yesterday, I had one of those “guilty pleasures” days, enjoying my read and curling up with it.

What about the rest of you?  How does your current read measure up to the previous one?

 

26 thoughts on “MONDAY POTPOURRI: MUSINGS — APRIL 16

  1. On Their Own really caught my attention. We just had a speaker from a group home for girls who age out at a meeting I attended. That is one of the things I had never considered, the fact that they often had no place to go after age 18. Thanks for visiting.

    Like

    • A very troubling aspect to the foster care system. Before I retired, our county had implemented some pretty awesome transitional homes and programs, though. One of the biggest problems is funding.

      Thanks for stopping by, Jo, and have a great week!

      Like

    • I do enjoy some nonfiction more than others, Sasbridge…my favorites are the writer or celebrity memoirs.

      Yes, I’m excited about the blogoversary coming soon…love the new “milestone” widget that shouts it out.

      Thanks for stopping by and for “following,” and have a great week.

      Like

  2. I have heard a lot about Lisa Scottoline recently and just got her book Save Me. I hope this one is as good as Come Home.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Lori

    Like

  3. I read two cozies, so it is easy to compare them. Over the week-end I wanted something relaxing and fun to read, so I read one of the “Cat Who” books by Lilian Jackson Braun. It hit the spot for me.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

