HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: RAINY DAY READING & RAMBLING THOUGHTS — APRIL 11

Waking up to the sound of rain on the roof brought ambivalent thoughts and feelings.

First, rainy days are great for curling up to read…but not so much if one wishes to go out and about.  But speaking of rainy days, for the past two days, I’ve been featuring a blog tour over at Rainy Days and Mondays, where Jamie Lisa Forbes’ book Unbroken has been spotlighted.

Yesterday’s review and today’s guest post share a little bit about the book and the process of bringing it out to its readers.

 

Hope you’ll meander over there and check it out.

Meanwhile, I’ve been watching shows from my DVR, like last night’s Ringer…one of my favorites.  Next week is the season finale, and the suspense and excitement are reaching a fevered pace.

Do you watch this show?  What shows are your favorites?

I’m also reading The Chaperone, which is a wonderfully descriptive period piece that’s taking me right into the 1920s, with the societal changes unnerving the more conventional characters while energizing the more daring.  There is also a secret past that one character is trying to discover.

Tomorrow when I wake up, I’m expecting this delightful book to arrive on Sparky, my Kindle, per my preorder awhile back.    The Song Remains the Same, by Allison Winn Scotch, promises to be a journey in which our MC, suffering from amnesia after an accident, must piece together both body and mind, with the help of family and friends, who have their own agendas. She filters through photos, art, music, and stories, hoping something will jog her memory, and soon, in tiny bits and pieces, Nell starts remembering. . . .

 

And toward the end of April, I’m eagerly awaiting another download for Sparky, from a favorite author:  The Good Father, by Diane Chamberlain.

I love this cover!  And the blurb grabbed me: 

A beloved daughter. A devastating choice. And now there’s no going back.

Four years ago, nineteen-year-old Travis Brown made a choice: to raise his newborn daughter on his own. While most of his friends were out partying and meeting girls, Travis was at home, changing diapers and worrying about keeping food on the table. But he’s never regretted his decision. Bella is the light of his life. The reason behind every move he makes. And so far, she is fed. Cared for. Safe.

But when Travis loses his construction job and his home, the security he’s worked so hard to create for Bella begins to crumble….

 

Maybe I should hope that it rains a lot in the upcoming days! 

What books are you waiting for or reading?  Do you like reading on a rainy day?

2 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: RAINY DAY READING & RAMBLING THOUGHTS — APRIL 11

  1. Yes!!!

    You need a few more rainy days…I spent most of today reading Alex George’s A Good American…not the book I planned to read but one I randomly chose from my Vine stack!!!

    Really good…

    Like

    • I’ve never heard of that one….I did spend some time reading, but then went out for awhile to hang out with my daughter.

      When I came home, I watched TV and the shows kept getting interrupted with storm warnings. I hope we don’t have power outages!

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and enjoy your evening.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

