HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: WAITING ON WEDNESDAY — FEB. 8

Welcome to Hump Day Potpourri and our Waiting on Wednesday celebration of the upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating.  Our event is hosted by Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

I hope you are all excited about the new books you’re going to learn about today.  I know that I am.  I especially enjoy visiting blogs and adding new books to my staggering lists (and stacks!).

The other day I discovered this book by Anne Lamott called Some Assembly Required.  It will be released on 3/20/12.

Blurb:   In Some Assembly Required, Anne Lamott enters a new and unexpected chapter of her own life: grandmotherhood.

Stunned to learn that her son, Sam, is about to become a father at nineteen, Lamott begins a journal about the first year of her grandson Jax’s life.

In careful and often hilarious detail, Lamott and Sam-about whom she first wrote so movingly in Operating Instructions-struggle to balance their changing roles with the demands of college and work, as they both forge new relationships with Jax’s mother, who has her own ideas about how to raise a child. Lamott writes about the complex feelings that Jax fosters in her, recalling her own experiences with Sam when she was a single mother. Over the course of the year, the rhythms of life, death, family, and friends unfold in surprising and joyful ways.

By turns poignant and funny, honest and touching, Some Assembly Required is the true story of how the birth of a baby changes a family-as this book will change everyone who reads it.

***

I think this one sounds really wonderful.  There is nothing quite like adding a baby to a family, even when that bundle of joy comes earlier than expected.

What are you looking forward to this week?  Please come on by and share….

26 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: WAITING ON WEDNESDAY — FEB. 8

  1. Since none of my sons have made me a grandmother I guess I will just have to read about it to know how it feels. This sounds like a good one to read to get that feeling. I love the title.

    Like

    • My second son gave me my first grandchild, a boy who is now almost seventeen! A few days later, my third son gave me another grandson.

      A bonanza of grandchildren soon arrived, now totaling seven. But there is nothing like that first one.

      Thanks for stopping by, Jo, and when you have them, you’ll be over the moon…lol.

      Like

  2. Hmm. I like that this one is going to explore the dad’s side of the teen pregnancy issue. There are plenty of books out there about being a teen mom, but very few about being a teen dad or a grandparent of a child born of teen pregnancy.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

