FRIDAY POTPOURRI — BOOK BEGINNINGS & FRIDAY 56 — SEPT. 30

Welcome to another Friday Potpourri.  Today we’re showcasing two bookish memes:  Book Beginnings, hosted by A Few More Pages; and The Friday 56, led by Freda’s Voice.

Today, Freda won’t be posting a 56, due to a family emergency.  However, I have decided to excerpt p. 56 anyway.  Want to join in?  Then grab a book you’re reading (or about to read); share the opening lines and your reaction to them, if you like.  Then turn to page 56 and excerpt something from that page.  Link up  your Book Beginnings with our host!

Today I’ve grabbed a book from next week’s stack:  Watch Me Die, by Erica Spindler.

Blurb: 

Before Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans, stained-glass restoration artist Mira Gallier had it all: a thriving business doing work she loved and an idyllic marriage to the perfect man. But the devastating storm stole her beloved husband – his body swept away by floodwaters, never to be found.

Now, after years of pain and turmoil, it looks as if Mira is finally on the verge of peace and emotional stability. But her life, like the magnificent windows blown to bits by Hurricane Katrina, is about to be shattered once again. And this time, it’s not a killer storm she faces, but a psychopath who will stop at nothing until he possesses her, body and soul…

***

New Orleans, Louisiana

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

1:48 a.m.

He had been alone so long.  Among the living but not of them.

Until now.

Mary had come back for him.  They’d been together all those many years ago, separated by his father’s will and the whole screwed-up, broken-down world.

***

Wow!  I like how the author titillates us with promises of a great backstory and something very suspenseful that is driving this character.

***

Page 56:  “That he is.”  Malone cocked his head.  “Ironic that he spends twenty-four/seven warning people to repent and be saved, but he’s so friggin’ scary most folks would choose hell over a minute in heaven with him.”

***

Now that one gave me a great insight into one of the characters.

What did you find today?  Please come on by and share.

15 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI — BOOK BEGINNINGS & FRIDAY 56 — SEPT. 30

  1. I just finished a book and I am still deciding what to read next.

    I read the Erica Spinder book…it was good…I think…I can’t remember!!!

    Too many books read and sometimes they sort of blend all together…

    Like

    • Oh, I know what you mean, Patty! So I’m glad that I review all the books I read…that helps me remember!

      Otherwise I might end up buying books that I already have!

      Thanks for stopping by. I had fun last night putting my TBRs on my new bookshelf.

      Like

      • Hi Laurel and Patty,

        I know exactly what you mean. Luckily, I too review all the books I read and I also have a spread sheet where I list all the books I have in my TBR pile, then another column where I mark off when I have read them, so that I don’t end up by buying the same book again.

        Like

  2. Hi Laurel Rain,

    I love Erica Spindler books, although I haven’t read this one.
    The religious person doesn’t sound like a very nice character at all and those first few lines would definitely leave me wanting to know more… more about this mystery person, why he seems so down on his luck, why his father interferred in his life so drastically, what his plans are now that Mary has come back for him … judging by the full synopsis, nothing good is about to come of the whole situation!!

    Like

  3. This is a real thriller. Bet you can’t put it down. Would love to read it. Can’t imagine what it would feel like to be chased by a psychopathic killer. I would want to die. That’s how afraid I would feel, I think. Have often seen this author’s name. Never read any of her books. Also, luv books with a New Orleans setting.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

