TEASER TUESDAYS — NOV. 9

TEASE ME, MICKEY!

Good morning, and welcome to Teaser Tuesdays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

In this bookish meme, we come together to share excerpts from our current reads, just so we can tempt you into adding them to your  wish lists.

Here’s how it works:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today I’m sharing from a book off of my toppling TBR stacks (good news, though, they’re getting smaller!).

My Best Friend’s Girl, by Dorothy Koomson, is a tale about friends, and the unthinkable things people do to their friends.

Teaser – p. 143:  She had no savings—just a great clothes collection.  She’d been freelance most of her working life because she needed to be flexible when it came to childcare, so she had no life insurance or any other kind of financial backup plan for this eventuality.

She sounds like someone between a rock and a hard place.  What are your characters up to this week?  I hope you’ll stop by and share.

22 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAYS — NOV. 9

  1. This book sounds great. I love the boots too.

    My character is trying to stay clear of her older brother so she won’t bother him and also having an aversion to food because of what the taste brings out.

    It is a cute, warm, family book.

    THE PARTICULAR SADNESS OF LEMON CAKE by Aimee Bender

    My teaser is here: http://silversolara.blogspot.com

    Like

    • I just finished another book recently about how the taste of food gets mixed in with words….(Bitter in the Mouth).

      This book by Dorothy Koomson is one I’m hoping I’ll love…it’s been on my stacks for quite awhile. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. It’s tough when the hard times hit us. But life continues to go on, some how or another. This sounds like a book that needs to be added to my ‘wishlist’.

    I will be starting a new book today, “Jane Austen Ruined My Life” by Beth Pattillo. I haven’t started reading it yet, so don’t have any idea what the characters are up to….but I’m looking forward to finding out.

    Like

  3. Like the tease – it gives a hint of the possible predicament your character could be in. My character is trying to be an independent woman in 1905 – not an easy task

    Like

  4. As you know, my characters are acting all-Gossip Girl-ish in the late 1800s! (Luxe by Anna Godbersen).
    I hope you’re liking Dorothy Koomson- I read The Chocolate Run earlier this year and really warmed towards it by the end. I hope to read some more of her books soon!

    Like

    • Thanks, Sam…I have read several of Koomson’s books; I think one of my favorites was Marshmallows for Breakfast. I haven’t read The Chocolate Run yet. So far, I’m enjoying this one. Her newest one, Goodnight, Beautiful, was not one of my favorites, although it got better toward the end.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

