TEASER TUESDAYS

I'm here to tempt you!

Welcome to Teaser Tuesdays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

This meme is our chance to really tease and tempt other bloggers to read what we’re reading…and it’s an opportunity for us to add exciting new books to our lists.

Here’s how it works:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today I’m excerpting from a collection of short stories by Joyce Carol Oates, called Give Me Your Heart.

My teaser is from the first story in the collection, which is entitled Give Me Your Heart.

These days, Dr. K–, my skin is no longer flawless.  It has become the frank, flawed skin of a middle-aged woman who makes no effort to disguise her age.  My hair, once shimmering strawberry-blond, is now faded, dry and brittle as broom sage; I keep it trimmed short, like a man’s, with scissors, scarcely glancing into a mirror as I snip-snip! away.

Okay, that is actually three sentences, but I couldn’t stop!

What did you discover in your books today?  I hope you’ll come by and share.

41 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAYS

    • Thanks for visiting, Marg…I don’t remember why I first read JCO, but I was very young at the time. In college, I think. I probably read her on someone’s recommendation, and there was a pull from then on. But I do have to be in the mood to read her work, and some of her books I like better than others. I would recommend We Were the Mulvaneys for a first one.

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Joy…You’re right about how prolific she is. I can’t keep up either! I still haven’t read some of last year’s books, although I do have The Gravedigger’s Daughter on my stacks.

      Like

    • Thanks, JoAnn…I agree about the intensity of her work, especially the short stories. Recently I read a novella of hers…very dark, called Dark Waters, appropriately; loosely based on the Chappaquiddick incident with Ted Kennedy.

      Like

  1. wow, an oldie but goodie author. I haven’t read anything by Oates for years. This one sounds good, though. Hope you enjoyed it. Have a great week and happy reading!

    Like

  2. You’re always so careful with your sentences that I knew these three really belonged together. And how coincidental — since I’m getting older and just this morning cut my own hair with scissors in the bathroom. 🙂 Love the teaser.

    Meanwhile, my own teaser is at Bookishgal.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

