SENTIMENTAL POTPOURRI

Sunday evening, I was doing my usual “bored and restless” thing.  Perusing my space for objects I could photograph for blogs or my website.

At first I thought this one would go on my website header, but then I decided on another image (Christmas stockings) and inserted this one (temporarily) on my Creations blog.  I say “temporarily,” because if it were permanent, I would have to make a new blog button.  And I’m too lazy right now to do that!

Okay, theoretically, the blog button doesn’t have to match the header.  But I’m compulsively, obsessively “married” to the idea of these things coordinating.

All of this is a preface for what I really want to talk about today.  Sentimental stuff.  Movies, books, etc.  The other day I recorded a movie from ‘way back, thinking, oh, it might be fun to watch this again. (Same Time Next Year).

Well, I couldn’t believe how captivated I was by this movie from 1978, with Alan Alda and Ellen Burstyn!  Was it the romantic idea of a love affair that seemingly transcends time?  Or was it the theme music from Johnny Mathis? (“The Last Time I Felt Like This”).

When I heard the first few strains of that song, I was transported back to the summer of 1979.    That song seemed to be playing everywhere, and I was going through my own romantic odyssey at that time.  It was a bittersweet moment…my spouse and I had decided to go our separate ways.  I was finishing up my master’s degree, and once that was done, we were “splitting the sheets.”  I was feeling “in love” with the possibilities of my new life, while mourning the old one.

So believe me when I say that this movie, which had come out just before this moment in my life, evoked all kinds of memories and issues for me!

I didn’t watch it all in one sitting.  Starting it on Monday, I didn’t catch the last few scenes until this morning.  And even though I knew how it was going to turn out, tears were flowing.  That’s what movies and books do for me.  They elicit all those feelings that are sometimes buried deep inside.

Isn’t that what we hope to do as writers?  I know that I love hearing the emotional responses of readers to my books and stories.

I just posted on Creations this morning…a short story of a woman trying to move on from her marriage that has ended.  This woman is a less-than-sympathetic character from my novel Embrace the Whirlwind.  Martha Cummings is the uptight wife of Amber’s lover.  We don’t like her very much throughout this book, although occasionally we glimpse her “human” side.  In this story, “Interior Designs,” we are afforded a more in-depth exploration of her “interior life,” if you will.

Hope you’ll check it out.  And while you’re exploring the Web, maybe you’ll hop on over to Amazon and find this movie I’m talking about!

One thought on “SENTIMENTAL POTPOURRI

  1. Pingback: HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A SENTIMENTAL JOURNEY | POTPOURRI

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

